Current time: 04-23-2014, 12:34 PM Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)

Post Reply 
Setting up a custom php.ini
01-21-2007, 06:04 AM
Post: #11
Setting up a custom php.ini
As long as you are here, let me ask you:

Does the below line mean that max php-uploads are set to 100MB?
s/.*upload_max_filesize.*/upload_max_filesize = 100M/;

Also, on: |http://www.wiki.dreamhost.com/index.php/PHP.ini| would you suggest I add anything from the "More general script with options:" box?

Thanks

-----
Webmaster of
SeraphicGate.com

Save $97 on any DreamHost plan by using promo code: SERAPHICPROMO
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-21-2007, 06:29 AM
Post: #12
Setting up a custom php.ini
Quote:Does the below line mean that max php-uploads are set to 100MB?
Yes, the example scripts in the wiki article set upload_max_filesize and post_max_size to 100M (I believe the default is 7MB), because these are the changes most users seem to be interested in.

Quote:would you suggest I add anything from the "More general script with options:" box?
Not really, the simpler PHP4 or PHP5 scripts shown should suffice. Although you may want to modify them slightly to make the setting changes *you* want to the php.ini file.

While on this subject; I had a quick look through the default php.ini file and can not see any obvious setting to change the PHP temp directory, although there is a upload_tmp_dir setting, which will set the temp directory used for HTTP uploads.

As I said above, I have never had a need to change the PHP temp directory, so I am not familiar with the procedure.

Mark

--
Save $50 on DreamHost plans using PRICESLASH promo code (Click for DreamHost promo code details)
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-21-2007, 06:39 AM
Post: #13
Setting up a custom php.ini
When I asked, dreamhost support said:

"Yes. In the php.ini file you can set the temp directory path and yes you are welcome to use a directory within your account space: http://wiki.dreamhost.com/index.php/PHP.ini"

So I guess it must be in there

"Although you may want to modify them slightly to make the setting changes *you* want to the php.ini file."

As of now i'm only looking to change the php-timeout and php temp dir size/location. Would I need those extra settings during the ini copy?

-----
Webmaster of
SeraphicGate.com

Save $97 on any DreamHost plan by using promo code: SERAPHICPROMO
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-21-2007, 06:51 AM
Post: #14
Setting up a custom php.ini
Quote:So I guess it must be in there
Well I can't see any obvious setting in there. You are welcome to have a look yourself, the zip file linked below has both the DreamHost PHP4 and PHP5 default ini files.

http://www.razw.com/php_ini.zip

Quote:Would I need those extra settings during the ini copy?
That depends on whether you follow the steps for creating a cron entry to automatically update the PHP executable and PHP.ini files at regular intervals. If you do create this cron entry, any changes you manually make to the ini file (but not to the update script) will be over-written the first time that cron runs the update script.

Getting back to your original download problem for a moment (I re-read the thread Smile ); I don't fully understand why a lack of space in the PHP temp directory, or the PHP timeout value, would be causing you problems with downloads.

How exactly are you managing these downloads? I would have thought that downloads of this size would be handled with straight HTTP links.

Mark

--
Save $50 on DreamHost plans using PRICESLASH promo code (Click for DreamHost promo code details)
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-21-2007, 07:06 AM
Post: #15
Setting up a custom php.ini
Thanks, I'll look those over.

I use a download manager to control my downloads. Access is controlled based on a member's forum account. I am also able to control downloads per day and keep download statistics. (I.E, my downloads are not for just anyone who stops by)

After speaking with the manager author, he suggested they changing the php-timeout and/or temp dir size. Also, the script relies on PHP's built-in functions and the server setup so theres nothing inherent in the script that would limit a download by size.

And last, DH servers only have 2GB set aside for the php temp dir/folder. And this is a problem as a few of my videos are near 1GB and my largest is 1.5GB, thus, they fail to pass to the user for download. (files around 400MB or less seem to work most of the time).

-----
Webmaster of
SeraphicGate.com

Save $97 on any DreamHost plan by using promo code: SERAPHICPROMO
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-21-2007, 07:28 AM
Post: #16
Setting up a custom php.ini
Quote:I use a download manager to control my downloads.
Fair enough, I (sort of) understand what you are doing. Although, it does seem rather inefficient to be moving large files like that around in preparation for downloading, if that is indeed what your script is doing. Maybe I misunderstood the explanation, but if the size of the temp directory is a factor, then that seems to be what the script is doing.

I believe max_execution_time is set to 30 seconds by default, so if your script takes longer than that to do what it does, I can see how that might cause problems.

Mark

--
Save $50 on DreamHost plans using PRICESLASH promo code (Click for DreamHost promo code details)
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-21-2007, 08:39 AM
Post: #17
Setting up a custom php.ini
I'm lost on the SSH login part

I use CuteFTP and it has "SFTP using SSH2 (Secure Shell)". However, the SHH Wiki isn't helping me much as I'm not even able to get logged in.

-----
Webmaster of
SeraphicGate.com

Save $97 on any DreamHost plan by using promo code: SERAPHICPROMO
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-21-2007, 08:52 AM
Post: #18
Setting up a custom php.ini
Quote:I use CuteFTP and it has "SFTP using SSH2 (Secure Shell)".
I am not familiar with CuteFTP, but I assume it is an FTP client, that just happens to use SSH for secure SFTP sessions. What you need is an SSH client, the wiki article that I posted previously lists some SSH clients for various operating systems. I personally use PuTTY under Windows XP.

Mark

--
Save $50 on DreamHost plans using PRICESLASH promo code (Click for DreamHost promo code details)
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-21-2007, 10:55 AM
Post: #19
Setting up a custom php.ini
This is really a lot to do and take in...lol

Alright, I turned on ssh/telnet access on my account.

Did everything on http://www.phileplanet.com/archives/2006...indows-xp/ (but login part)

Set up the keys and added them to Pageant

Added files to ftp ~/ and to .shh along with chmoding

However, I'm not able to login. Pageant is running but when I click the key listed, nothing happens. What do I put in PuTTY's hostname box?

-----
Webmaster of
SeraphicGate.com

Save $97 on any DreamHost plan by using promo code: SERAPHICPROMO
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-21-2007, 04:01 PM
Post: #20
Setting up a custom php.ini
Quote:Set up the keys and added them to Pageant
You don't need to setup Pageant and the RSA keys etc. unless you require 'password less log-in'. For now, I suggest you just stay with logging-in manually via PuTTY.

In PuTTYs hostname field, just enter yourdomain.com, then hit the 'Open' button. You will probably see a warning dialog about the server key not being in the registry, just click through this dialog and you should see the log-in prompt from your DreamHost server.

Mark

--
Save $50 on DreamHost plans using PRICESLASH promo code (Click for DreamHost promo code details)
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump: