Current time: 04-24-2014, 03:11 PM Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)

QT streaming - worth it for me?
05-31-2006, 12:46 AM
Greetings. I managed to get QT streaming all running on my site for audio (mp4 AAC) and video (.h264) content - not an easy task since I'm no web guru (the KB and wiki helped immensly) but I wanted to implement some DH provided cool Apple tech. After some constructive criticism I added standard mp3 audio to "appeal to the lowest common denominator" (i.e., those without the latest QT and/or on Windows, etc.).

I learned much about QT streaming & the code necessary to set this up. However, rethinking the whole thing before I add non-streaming video, is all this it worth it for my personal situation? I'm just a simple musician who's offering up a bit of free a/v content. Should I chuck the whole QT streaming concept and just go with QT fast start & basic mp3 (sort of http streaming/download, especially if you're on broadband) for simplicity's sake or are there any "worth the trouble" benefits to offering a/v content in more that one standard format?

Thanks for any thoughts!
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
06-13-2006, 02:35 PM
Bit late on the reply, but I'd gone through this myself and here's my personal take on it. It's a bit long and rambling, but what the heck.

Offering a "lowest common denominator" MP3 version can be a kindness to those not well eqipped, and is probably a necessity if you're going for the widest reach possible. Giving a higher quality AAC version is a nice bonus to people with the right software, and for video, QT is as common as anything else so I'd just go .h264 and call it good (I'll also note that when I tested, VLC would play QT .h264 files just fine, and it runs on pretty much every platform, so you can recommend it to people not on Windows or the Mac, though if you're geeky enough to be running Linux you probably already have it).