Current time: 04-21-2014, 02:54 AM Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)

Mozilla and Quicktime
03-07-2006, 04:42 AM
Post: #1
Mozilla and Quicktime
Hi

Look i'm not a very good programmer, so please bear with me.

My website was built for me, and i now have control over the content, but even the original builder could not figure this out. Basically my quicktime files do not open in mozilla, but are fine in Internet explorer.

This is the exisitng code in the popup page.

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="iso-8859-1"?>
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
<head>
<title>Flying Crooked</title>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1" />
</head>

<body bgcolor="#000000">
<OBJECT CLASSID="clsid:02BF25D5-8C17-4B23-BC80-D3488ABDDC6B"
WIDTH="320" HEIGHT="240"
CODEBASE="http://www.apple.com/qtactivex/qtplugin.cab">
<PARAM name="SRC" VALUE="fly.mov">
<PARAM name="QTSRC"
VALUE="rtsp://video.mysite.com/video.mysite.com/fly.mov">
<PARAM name="AUTOPLAY" VALUE="true">
<PARAM name="CONTROLLER" VALUE="false">
<embed src="fly.mov" qtsrc="rtsp://video.mysite.com/video.mysite.com/fly.mov" width="320" height="240" target="myself" controller="true" autoplay="true">
</embed>
</OBJECT>
</body>
</html>

I have heard and read something about a "poster" movie, but not sure i totally understand. Why does quicktime work on other sites i visit using mozilla?

Any help out there much appreciated

soundcard
Find all posts by this user
03-07-2006, 05:14 AM
Post: #2
Mozilla and Quicktime
Have you had a look at the wiki page which gives a link to applessite for 'hinting' quicktime .mov files.

It may just be that you are loading an activex module for IE which of course doesn't exist for Mozilla. So you might have to write a section of code for each browser. Failing that I suppose a simple link to movie.mov would let the browser decide to call the standalone quicktime viewer.

--
Norm
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
03-07-2006, 06:21 AM
Post: #3
Mozilla and Quicktime
Quote:my quicktime files do not open in mozilla, but are fine in Internet explorer.
The code you are using is the old-fashioned approach to embedding multimedia. Rather than try to debug it, I recommend that you replace it with a standards-compliant alternative. You can find full details about how to embed Quicktime movies on this page of the DreamHost wiki.

----------------
Simon Jessey
Keystone Websites | si-blog
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
03-07-2006, 07:46 AM
Post: #4
Mozilla and Quicktime
Ok well i tried replacing the code at that link but no joy, so the search goes on...
thanks
Find all posts by this user
03-07-2006, 02:14 PM
Post: #5
Mozilla and Quicktime
You have controller as TRUE, and then False. Don't know if that might help.

you can also try adding the :7071 after your first video.mysite.com in both instances...and see if that helps. When I set up my streaming I found I needed to use this...but don't know why : )

Hope you get it up and running...

ie...

<OBJECT CLASSID="clsid:02BF25D5-8C17-4B23-BC80-D3488ABDDC6B"
WIDTH="320" HEIGHT="240"
CODEBASE="http://www.apple.com/qtactivex/qtplugin.cab">
<PARAM name="SRC" VALUE="fly.mov">
<PARAM name="QTSRC"
VALUE="rtsp://video.mysite.com:7071/video.mysite.com/fly.mov">
<PARAM name="AUTOPLAY" VALUE="true">
<PARAM name="CONTROLLER" VALUE="false">
<embed src="fly.mov" qtsrc="rtsp://video.mysite.com:7071/video.mysite.com/fly.mov" width="320" height="240" target="myself" controller="false" autoplay="true">
</embed>
</OBJECT>
Find all posts by this user
03-07-2006, 02:56 PM
Post: #6
Mozilla and Quicktime
thanks for that guys

no luck though, with any of the above..tried them all and still no joy..

getting very frustrating.
Find all posts by this user
03-07-2006, 03:11 PM
Post: #7
Mozilla and Quicktime
You could post your problem at the quicktime discussions

http://discussions.apple.com/category.js...goryID=122

they are the ones who helped me get mine working.

hth
Find all posts by this user
03-07-2006, 03:25 PM
Post: #8
Mozilla and Quicktime
What happens when you create a test blank html page and just use:-

<a href="http://video.mysite.com/video.mysite.com/fly.mov" target="blank">fly.mov</a>

Can you see the mov then in Mozilla?

You can see some streamed MOV files at this site

Have you hinted the .mov file for Quicktime?

--
Norm
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
03-07-2006, 04:27 PM
Post: #9
Mozilla and Quicktime
no i cant see that..just broken quicktime logo.

And in answer to the previous, yes i encoded them to be stream hinted, using sorenson squeeze 4.0

...the joy of eh....

weird thing is that the same file does work on another site in mozilla, but i cant get hold of the guy who hung it up.

Which suggests the file itself is ok.

cheers
Find all posts by this user
03-07-2006, 04:38 PM
Post: #10
Mozilla and Quicktime
On the other site where it works in Mozilla have you looked at the page source to see if that helps?

--
Norm
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user


Forum Jump: