Current time: 04-24-2014, 01:54 AM Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)

Post Reply 
Still can't see my syte, any ideas?
05-03-2005, 04:44 AM
Post: #1
Still can't see my syte, any ideas?
After almost a week, the situation is still the same: I can't see my site in the browser (blank screen timeout), can't ping it, tracert (both to the domain name and to the IP) gets lost in the way. However, I can connect to the mailbox and connect via FTP.

I've asked in the forum, and other people can ping it and trace to it ok, but not see it. Others can ping, trace and see it.

So, the server is running ok, my ISP tells me they can't find any problem with the network, everything seems to be working but the problem persists, and I am at a loss. I had never found such a situation before.

I do not know, but this must be fixed and I have no idea how to go about it. Any help welcome.

Thank you for your attention.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-03-2005, 04:50 AM
Post: #2
Still can't see my syte, any ideas?
Quote:After almost a week, the situation is still the same: I can't see my site in the browser
Please post your site's URL, so that we can check for ourselves. Can't be much use of we don't know where to look, can we?

Edit: I just looked up all your previous posts in other threads, and I figured out that your site must be xenoid.net, correct? If that is true, then I can see it just fine.

---------------
Simon Jessey
Keystone Websites | si-blog
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-03-2005, 05:02 AM
Post: #3
Still can't see my syte, any ideas?
yes, it's xenoid.net, I obviously forgot to explain it, sorry.

So you can see it. Others also can, others not. I can't. And it seems it's the only website I cannot reach. Have you found this situation before? Is there anything I can do about it?
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-03-2005, 05:06 AM
Post: #4
Still can't see my syte, any ideas?
Quote:And it seems it's the only website I cannot reach. Have you found this situation before? Is there anything I can do about it?
Try completely clearing your browser's cache and force the page to be loaded again.

---------------
Simon Jessey
Keystone Websites | si-blog
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-03-2005, 05:15 AM
Post: #5
Still can't see my syte, any ideas?
I already did that, both in Firefox and IE, and it makes no difference. I've changed the DNS servers in my config, and nothing. I don't think the problem is with my local machine, as I've tried with others.
Also, traces from different countries (http://www.traceroute.net) also fail.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-03-2005, 05:16 AM
Post: #6
Still can't see my syte, any ideas?
I, on the other hand, cant's see it. Whats in your public_html/.htaccess file?

have you tried just a simple, helloworld.htm and no .htaccess?

what machine are you on?

-Jason

I40.com - Home Page
MP3Mystic - Personal Streaming Music server.
(No longer hosted with Dreamhost)
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-03-2005, 05:23 AM
Post: #7
Still can't see my syte, any ideas?
I've done a tracert. Here are results from my area just south and east of Philadelphia. I've removed the first 2 hops because they give information only related to my router:
Code:
3    10 ms     9 ms     9 ms  ge-2-4-ur02.wallingford.pa.panjde.comcast.net [68.86.218.193]
4     9 ms     9 ms     9 ms  po70-ar01.wallingford.pa.panjde.comcast.net [68.86.208.190]
5    11 ms     9 ms    11 ms  po90-ar01.401nbroadst.pa.panjde.comcast.net [68.86.208.29]
6    13 ms    11 ms    14 ms  68.86.211.14
7    14 ms    14 ms    13 ms  12.118.114.9
8    13 ms    15 ms    15 ms  tbr1-p012301.phlpa.ip.att.net [12.123.137.62]
9    14 ms    14 ms    13 ms  tbr1-cl8.n54ny.ip.att.net [12.122.2.17]
10    12 ms    14 ms    14 ms  12.122.80.21
11    13 ms    14 ms    14 ms  so-0-2-0.gar4.NewYork1.Level3.net [209.244.160.129]
12    12 ms    14 ms    13 ms  ae-1-51.bbr1.NewYork1.Level3.net [4.68.97.1]
13    80 ms   113 ms    82 ms  as-0-0.bbr1.LosAngeles1.Level3.net [64.159.1.157]
14    93 ms    84 ms   209 ms  ge-1-1-55.car1.LosAngeles1.Level3.net [4.68.102.130]
15    84 ms    83 ms    86 ms  ge1-L3.dreamhost.com [4.78.192.66]
16    82 ms    79 ms    79 ms  basic-dap.baht.dreamhost.com [64.111.102.60]
Also, a WHOIS search is reporting a 206 response code.
---------------
Simon Jessey
Keystone Websites | si-blog
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-03-2005, 05:25 AM
Post: #8
Still can't see my syte, any ideas?
i don't see any public_html folder.

In the site root I have these folders: logs, maildir, xenoid.net. Inside logs there is another xenoid.net, and inside there are the folders html and html.945227.

I've been looking around and can't see no .htaccess file.

Now I'm on a Pentium Centrino with WinXP Pro, connected to DSL through a LAN, running Firefox.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-03-2005, 05:28 AM
Post: #9
Still can't see my syte, any ideas?
If I can see your site, then there is nothing wrong with where you are putting it.

---------------
Simon Jessey
Keystone Websites | si-blog
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-03-2005, 05:29 AM
Post: #10
Still can't see my syte, any ideas?
Sorry I ment xenoid.net folder.. Not public_html (I was thinking my other host)...

Ok.. put a helloworld.htm file in your xenoid.net folder.

with just <h2>hello world</h2>

FTP programs won't see the .htaccess file, you will need to use telnet, or the file manager. and delete or rename it.

-Jason

I40.com - Home Page
MP3Mystic - Personal Streaming Music server.
(No longer hosted with Dreamhost)
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump: