Current time: 04-23-2014, 09:19 AM Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)

Post Reply 
Anyone use CloudFlare feature???
04-06-2012, 03:53 PM
Post: #11
RE: Anyone use CloudFlare feature???
Does Google Analytics work with CloudFlare?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-06-2012, 05:49 PM
Post: #12
RE: Anyone use CloudFlare feature???
(04-06-2012 01:38 PM)damoncloudflare Wrote:  Hi,

Rocket Loader is still very much in beta. You should report the Rocket Loader bugs here: https://www.cloudflare.com/wco-bug-report.html

Rocket Loader generally doesn't impact loading negatively, so please be sure to mention that in the bug report & any scripts it appeared to be affecting.

Maybe I will do it later, since I am using custom theme on my sites and I am not the developer of it.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-06-2012, 07:10 PM
Post: #13
RE: Anyone use CloudFlare feature???
I got the CloudFlare emails today (for all my Dreamhosted domains) and was pretty excited. Anything that speeds up performance and provides additional security is a good thing in my book. Two months ago, I signed up for a similar service to the tune of US$30/month, so I immediately flipped the switch on this functionality - even if it did require adding 'www' like it's still 1999.

Unfortunately, next thing I know, I've got friends asking me why my site is down. Drop everything. Run inside. Sure enough. Chrome advising infinite redirect loop or something. Back to the DH control panel, deactivated, back to removing 'www.' Site working again two minutes later.

Kinda bummed. This is exactly what I've been looking for, but now it seems too risky. Think I'll sit back and wait until this is all dialed in.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-06-2012, 07:15 PM
Post: #14
RE: Anyone use CloudFlare feature???
I will use CloudFlare when I don't have to use WWW. Until then, it's a no-go.

To those who wonder, I don't know if DH has documented this anywhere, but if you try to set it up on your domain and have the radio button for "Leave it alone: Both http://www.<yourdomain>.com/ and http://<yourdomain>.com/ will work" then it tells you:

Note: When using CloudFlare without a subdomain, you must select "Add WWW". We are working with CloudFlare to remove this limitation and hope to have a solution soon.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-06-2012, 09:16 PM (This post was last modified: 04-06-2012 09:17 PM by packzap.)
Post: #15
RE: Anyone use CloudFlare feature???
Sounds like this is still in beta, kiddies. Install at your own peril!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-07-2012, 04:59 AM (This post was last modified: 04-07-2012 05:47 AM by soyanna.)
Post: #16
RE: Anyone use CloudFlare feature???
SUCKS!!! No idea how to fix it. Sad

I just foolishly enabled it (including WWW prefix).

My site is now completely down!

With the browser error message "This webpage has a redirect loop".

(1 hour later)

Fixed... Needed to point my Godaddy DNS settings to point to CloudFlare.

So if your domain is not hosted on Dreamhost go to CloudFlare.com and follow the set up process there.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-07-2012, 07:53 AM
Post: #17
RE: Anyone use CloudFlare feature???
(04-06-2012 07:10 PM)DR1665 Wrote:  I got the CloudFlare emails today (for all my Dreamhosted domains) and was pretty excited. Anything that speeds up performance and provides additional security is a good thing in my book. Two months ago, I signed up for a similar service to the tune of US$30/month, so I immediately flipped the switch on this functionality - even if it did require adding 'www' like it's still 1999.

I had my site on CloudFlare a few weeks ago (by actually visiting the site and signing up there) and didn't see this limitation. Is this just something to do with DH's implementation of CF?
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-07-2012, 10:48 AM
Post: #18
RE: Anyone use CloudFlare feature???
Exact same thing happened to me this morning. :_( And I am grateful for your pointing me to the WWW-redirect as the instigator of the infinite redirect loop in which my site found itself for a half hour this morning.

I want to root for Dreamhost here and I definitely want to get this going again in a future effort. But I wish DH's marketing dudes had made it clearer that CloudFlare + WWW prefix is not a risk-free change.

Any good tips on how to crack this problem?

-J
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-07-2012, 05:34 PM
Post: #19
RE: Anyone use CloudFlare feature???
I turned it on, it 'seems' to be pushing out my site faster. I ran YSlow on it and the the score seemed to be improved due to minifying a bunch of the code. The Cached Memory usage for my VPS appears to have plummeted.

I tried buying the subscription to the CloudFlare Plus plan via DreamHost but the link only takes me back to the Web Panel with no option to buy in. Seems they may have rolled this out before really thinking about this properly. http://dreamhost.com/partners/cloudflare/
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-08-2012, 05:54 AM (This post was last modified: 04-08-2012 06:10 AM by troyters.)
Post: #20
RE: Anyone use CloudFlare feature???
Massively dissappointed - I know jack and tried it and my site went down -

Timestamp: Sun, 08 Apr 2012 05:45:26 -0700

Your IP address: 94.194.231.141

Requested URL: http://www.thecultofbrand.com/

Error reference number: 1004

Server ID: FL_21F1

Process ID: PID_1333889122.209-1-3504436844

User-Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; Intel Mac OS X 10_6_8) AppleWebKit/534.52.7 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1.2 Safari/534.52.7

Waht the hell happened and how do I fix it. Supposedly an *easy* tick box and you're away.... no you're down. I'm just fed up with DH now after the outages as well.
it's back - all I did was uncheck the box. I won;t be checking that one again. Another FAIL for DH.
now my website is flickering on and off line. I hate this
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump: