Current time: 04-20-2014, 06:26 AM Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)

Post Reply 
Anyone use CloudFlare feature???
04-04-2012, 10:30 PM
Post: #1
Anyone use CloudFlare feature???
Just wondering if there is anyone is using it...

like is it really blocking hakcing attempts?
really making your website run faster?

Thank you for replying!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-05-2012, 11:46 AM (This post was last modified: 04-05-2012 02:33 PM by bohemier.)
Post: #2
RE: Anyone use CloudFlare feature???
With DH's recent instabilities, I put some of my sites on cloudflare, thinking they would be partly protected from future service downtime by servicing cached version of my sites. Last time DH went down, my cloudflare sites responded with this message:

Website Offline, No Cached Version Available

Cloudflare says that this message appears when the site has just been added to their service, but mine were there for at least a month. I just checked another one that has been there for 3 months and faked a crash by changing the domain's A record in cloudflare to something non existent. Same thing, no cached version available. So I have never been able to see the cache service in action. As for hacking attempts, I can't really tell if it's worth it.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-05-2012, 02:30 PM
Post: #3
RE: Anyone use CloudFlare feature???
I've been anxious to give it a try, but the Dreamhost implementation current requires that the WWW prefix be added to the domain, which makes it a no-go for my applications.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-05-2012, 02:34 PM
Post: #4
RE: Anyone use CloudFlare feature???
(04-05-2012 02:30 PM)webgroupWest Wrote:  I've been anxious to give it a try, but the Dreamhost implementation current requires that the WWW prefix be added to the domain, which makes it a no-go for my applications.

Hi webgroupWest,

Do you have more info on this requirement? I didn't see that anywhere...

Thanks!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-05-2012, 02:37 PM
Post: #5
RE: Anyone use CloudFlare feature???
(04-05-2012 11:46 AM)bohemier Wrote:  With DH's recent instabilities, I put some of my sites on cloudflare, thinking they would be partly protected from future service downtime by servicing cached version of my sites. Last time DH went down, my cloudflare sites responded with this message:

Website Offline, No Cached Version Available

Cloudflare says that this message appears when the site has just been added to their service, but mine were there for at least a month. I just checked another one that has been there for 3 months and faked a crash by changing the domain's A record in cloudflare to something non existent. Same thing, no cached version available. So I have never been able to see the cache service in action. As for hacking attempts, I can't really tell if it's worth it.



Oh, so disappointed !

The purpose of cloud computing is to avoid any downtime and load websites faster, right ?

What are the other solutions available ? Linode or Rackspace ? :-)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-05-2012, 02:59 PM (This post was last modified: 04-05-2012 03:00 PM by damoncloudflare.)
Post: #6
RE: Anyone use CloudFlare feature???
(04-05-2012 11:46 AM)bohemier Wrote:  With DH's recent instabilities, I put some of my sites on cloudflare, thinking they would be partly protected from future service downtime by servicing cached version of my sites. Last time DH went down, my cloudflare sites responded with this message:

. So I have never been able to see the cache service in action. As for hacking attempts, I can't really tell if it's worth it.

Just a quick note that the Always Online feature does have some limitations.

". So I have never been able to see the cache service in action. As for hacking attempts, I can't really tell if it's worth it."
One way you can see what we're challenging from hitting your site is by going to your Threat Control panel. Any visitors that were actually challenged would show.


(04-05-2012 02:30 PM)webgroupWest Wrote:  I've been anxious to give it a try, but the Dreamhost implementation current requires that the WWW prefix be added to the domain, which makes it a no-go for my applications.

This is actually a requirement for any CloudFlare hosting partner (the integration only allows for provisioning CNAMEs). If you don't use www on the site at all, then you would have to signup directly for CloudFlare.

Damon
CloudFlare Community Evangelist
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-05-2012, 05:17 PM (This post was last modified: 04-05-2012 05:32 PM by JackL92.)
Post: #7
RE: Anyone use CloudFlare feature???
Hmmm I enabled this feature with basic membership(free) after I made this post.

Some differences:
Before using CloudFlare, one of my sites has 126 vulnerabilities according to Qualys free scan.
After enabled CloudFlare, the vulnerabilities dropped to 12.

Another thing is I think it takes more time for one of the web to load instead making it loads faster.

Lastly, does not seems like sub domains are being protected according to HTTP headers.

I have a big question: is this thing conlict with google adsense? since it is like a proxy...
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-06-2012, 11:04 AM
Post: #8
RE: Anyone use CloudFlare feature???
(04-05-2012 05:17 PM)JackL92 Wrote:  Hmmm I enabled this feature with basic membership(free) after I made this post.

Some differences:
Before using CloudFlare, one of my sites has 126 vulnerabilities according to Qualys free scan.
After enabled CloudFlare, the vulnerabilities dropped to 12.

Another thing is I think it takes more time for one of the web to load instead making it loads faster.

Lastly, does not seems like sub domains are being protected according to HTTP headers.

I have a big question: is this thing conlict with google adsense? since it is like a proxy...

The only thing that might conflict with AdSense is Rocket Loader. If you see an issue with this feature turned on in your settings, then turn off Rocket Loader. Other than that, should be no conflict.

"Lastly, does not seems like sub domains are being protected according to HTTP headers."
We can only proxy CNAMEs through the hosting partner configuration. If these records are A records, or if they are not web traffic subdomains, then you wouldn't be able to enable CloudFlare on those records.

"Another thing is I think it takes more time for one of the web to load instead making it loads faster."
One thing to keep in mind is that caching can take several days to build out. You should see a fairly immediate reduction in server load, however.

Damon
CloudFlare Community Evangelist
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-06-2012, 12:33 PM
Post: #9
RE: Anyone use CloudFlare feature???
(04-06-2012 11:04 AM)damoncloudflare Wrote:  The only thing that might conflict with AdSense is Rocket Loader. If you see an issue with this feature turned on in your settings, then turn off Rocket Loader. Other than that, should be no conflict.

"Lastly, does not seems like sub domains are being protected according to HTTP headers."
We can only proxy CNAMEs through the hosting partner configuration. If these records are A records, or if they are not web traffic subdomains, then you wouldn't be able to enable CloudFlare on those records.

"Another thing is I think it takes more time for one of the web to load instead making it loads faster."
One thing to keep in mind is that caching can take several days to build out. You should see a fairly immediate reduction in server load, however.

I do not know if there is conflict with adsense or not with Rocket Loader, I have not receive any message from google, but Rocket Loader does cause some problem on my website, after turning it off, the load speed of my site back to normal again (or faster, did not measure the load time).
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-06-2012, 01:38 PM
Post: #10
RE: Anyone use CloudFlare feature???
Hi,

Rocket Loader is still very much in beta. You should report the Rocket Loader bugs here: https://www.cloudflare.com/wco-bug-report.html

Rocket Loader generally doesn't impact loading negatively, so please be sure to mention that in the bug report & any scripts it appeared to be affecting.

Damon
CloudFlare Community Evangelist
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump: