Current time: 04-23-2014, 03:07 PM Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)

How to setup my email?
03-17-2012, 02:32 PM
How to setup my email?
Hello All,

I'm a complete beginner here, so please bear with me. I'm trying to set up my email. I got my domain from namecheap and Dreamhost is my host. When I try to setup my e-mail on my Mac Lion OS, it asks for incoming and outgoing server, which I can't figure it out. I read it's mail.yourdomain.com but when I try that it says it's not responding.

I don't know what to do now. Please help.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-17-2012, 03:17 PM (This post was last modified: 03-17-2012 03:17 PM by sXi.)
RE: How to setup my email?
Have you had the domain hosted here for long or is it new today, and does the domain resolve in a browser?

Maximum Cash Discount on any plan with MAXCASH

How To Install PHP.INI / ionCube on DreamHost
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
03-17-2012, 04:19 PM (This post was last modified: 03-17-2012 04:21 PM by Gene Steinberg.)
(03-17-2012 02:32 PM)xmizer Wrote:  Hello All,

I'm a complete beginner here, so please bear with me. I'm trying to set up my email. I got my domain from namecheap and Dreamhost is my host. When I try to setup my e-mail on my Mac Lion OS, it asks for incoming and outgoing server, which I can't figure it out. I read it's mail.yourdomain.com but when I try that it says it's not responding.

I don't know what to do now. Please help.

So if your domain is fizbin.com, for example, it would be mail.fizbin.com for incoming and outgoing in Apple Mail. I assume that you set up your site in DreamHost's Web panel to point to their nameservers (ns1.dreamhost.com, etc., etc.) and to allow DreamHost to host your mail, right?