Current time: 04-17-2014, 02:43 PM Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)

Custom PHP + APC
12-09-2011, 05:07 AM
Custom PHP + APC
I am currently considering installing a custom PHP with APC. This is something I have no experience doing and I have a few questions. Forgive me if they're silly. Tongue

I'm looking at the PHP 5.3 + Xdebug + APC install script. Is this something I can run by itself and get all those things setup, or is there additional steps that need to be taken first?

I'm currently on a free trial for VPS, though I'm considering moving back to shared when it's done since I have not seen any performance increase after the move. I have both mediawiki and an SMF forum installed, and I've been trying to improve their performance.

After installing a custom php, is it automatically set for all of my domains? Or is this something I would have to select under each domain settings? I ask mainly because I want to know if this will do bad things to my currently active websites if something goes wrong during installation.

Thanks!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-09-2011, 07:33 AM
RE: Custom PHP + APC
Ok, so I actually managed to get the above answers already. I'm trying to actually install the script now, but I'm getting this error:

Code:
2011-12-09 06:30:38 (464 KB/s) - `openssl-1.0.0e.tar.gz' saved [4040229/4040229]

--2011-12-09 06:30:38--  http://ignum.dl.sourceforge.net/project/mcrypt/Libmcrypt/2.5.8/libmcrypt-
Resolving ignum.dl.sourceforge.net... 62.109.128.11, 2001:1ab0:7e1f:1:230:48ff:fed1:9c0a
Connecting to ignum.dl.sourceforge.net|62.109.128.11|:80... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 302 Found
Location: http://downloads.sourceforge.net/project/mcrypt/Libmcrypt/2.5.8/libmcrypt-?download&failedmirror=ignum.dl.sourceforge.net [following]
--2011-12-09 06:30:38--  http://downloads.sourceforge.net/project/mcrypt/Libmcrypt/2.5.8/libmcrypt-?download&failedmirror=ignum.dl.sourceforge.net