Current time: 04-23-2014, 11:05 PM Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)

advice sought
06-10-2009, 08:55 AM
advice sought
I'm at a loss and would REALLY appreciate some advice. I'm a commercial photographer. Nearly ALL our work is assignment based, but we'd like to expand slightly into a more retail offering, something along the lines of what you'd call "decor" I guess - scenic photo prints (hard copy, not digital stock downloads). Our needs are more complex than a simple PayPal button (3 sizes, title or no title, framed or unframed, and if framed maybe 3 options), but a LOT less complex than most carts seem geared toward.

I don't want the user to have to create an account. I don't want wish lists or suggestions (purchases of this print also purchased...).

I'm pretty clear on gateways and user accounts and certificates and SSL and licensed vs. hosted. I'm a happy hand-coder (but not what I would call a developer) and generally don't like template-driven restrictions very much but I guess I could live with the right one. Our needs (at this point anyway) are small enough that we don't really need a whole CMS, but again - I could live with that if I found the right product.

I've looked at dozens of shopping carts. I'm tentatively leaning toward Interspire and ShopSite. I don't want to spend a ton of money but I also recognize that something polished and solid probably won't be free.

Part of my dilemma is that I haven't yet seen something exactly like what I want. I'm appealing to any of you out there who have had a good experience with a shopping cart product to give me some benefit of your experience. At the moment, I'm staying away from ZenCart and osCommerce because of the level of dread I feel in pruning those huge opensource monsters down to what we realistically need. (Also - ZenCart at present requires a user to create an account.)

I have looked into FoxyCart but... not sold yet.

Thanks for any and all help!

Steve