Current time: 04-17-2014, 05:53 AM Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)

WebDesign Software
08-28-2008, 08:12 AM
WebDesign Software
howdy, i am a newbie in the webdesign world, i am currently using Front Page.. and have read a few posts here on how NOT to use it.. can you tell me WHAT people are using to make an easy page and upload to DH !?

i just created 2 simple pages .. 1 has been uploaded using FP and the other is not.. i just want to check with all of you PROS as to what you use to create SIMPLE webpages!

tks !
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-28-2008, 09:47 AM
WebDesign Software
For simple pages, notepad. Usually it's quicker for me to do it that way.

If I'm lazy and want simple, or want something a bit more in depth, Dreamweaver works fine. But even if I want it more advanced, I tend to try and do everything by hand.

If I need something serious and graphically intense, Photoshop and Dreamweaver work for me.

Your other problem is going to be that DH will be removing Frontpage support as Microsoft decided they didn't want to make it anymore.

If I remember right, google apps had something to do it with. But I never used it so I'm not sure.

--John V
08-28-2008, 04:36 PM
WebDesign Software
Front page can be fine for a beginner as long as you upload your files via ftp and not use front page extentions.
However Front page lacks certain features that web designers need. Then you need to decide whether you want to stay with a wysiwyg program or code by hand using nothing more than notepad. The latter being the cheapest route with the exception of learning materials which you should get anyway.
Dreamweaver does make the best of both worlds. As well as supporting features like css, php, asp, sql databases, javascript, ajax, to mention a few.
For uploading to DH, a free program like filezilla, the webftp program accessable via your control panel(Upload limit is 7MB ), or dreamweaver has ftp built in.
Hope this helps

My website