Current time: 04-23-2014, 01:00 AM Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)

Post Reply 
ionCube installation
09-24-2008, 12:07 AM
Post: #11
ionCube installation
edit relevant line in my (custom) php.ini as such:
zend_extension="$HOME/ioncube/ioncube_loader_lin_5.2.so"

still get not-working-correctly" error under "mydomain"/ioncube-loader-helper.php
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-24-2008, 12:45 AM
Post: #12
ionCube installation
My apologies, I thought you meant within a script.

PHP.ini references should be full links beginning with a forward slash, such as:

zend_extension="/home/user/path/to/loader.so"

Maximum Cash Discount on any plan with MAXCASH
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-24-2008, 12:57 AM
Post: #13
ionCube installation
thanks sXi for your prompt reply....

I am at best a novice as far as php is concerned, so if I may...

do i actually have exactly type "/home/DH server name/my user name/main domain/sub domain /ioncube/..." basically replicating the complete path as shown under phpinfo for loaded configuration file

or

as everything is located in a sub-domain of main domain (custom php is also referenced within the sub-domain), I can just commence with =/subdomain/ioncube (which unfortunately does not seem to work for me)

Thks again
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-24-2008, 01:06 AM
Post: #14
ionCube installation
The "/.server/" part is superfluous and not required.

From your description, it would appear your path would be something like:

/home/username/sub.domain.com/ioncube/loader.so

Maximum Cash Discount on any plan with MAXCASH
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-24-2008, 01:41 AM
Post: #15
ionCube installation
sorry, doesn't work either.... Last question(s) before I can the add-on that actually requires ioncube:
- what CHMOD should loader.so have, mine is presently 644
- IonCube wiki articles requires add line of [suhosin]
extension="suhosin.so" - where does that file come from as it is not in the ioncube subfolder or part of loader.so...
Thks for your help!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-24-2008, 02:18 AM
Post: #16
ionCube installation
Hi - 644 should be right. It is also important to have the latest x86-64 loaders due to Dreamhost recent upgrade to x64 - the reason all of our Ioncube sites are now broken.
We are having incredible problems trying to solve these issues - I don't see why Dreamhost can't just enable Ioncube centrally, it is required by many CMS solutions and other installs these days. Instead we are struggling for days now with these issues.
I am now currently trying to go step-by-step with the custom PHP install, over and above already having custom php.ini and php.cgi previously - which was working fine before - updating the ioncube loaders and the php.cgi did not solve the problem.
There are so many things to make sure are just right, otherwise looks like it will break.
It would be *highly* useful if somebody can put some simple step-by-step instructions here for doing either a custom PHP5 install on one of my domains, or how to do the custom php.ini + php.cgi file solution - that would help many of us now and in the future. The Dreamhost instructions via the wiki are not clear at all.
Good luck to all who are suffering these issues!
Adrian
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-24-2008, 03:19 AM
Post: #17
ionCube installation
Quote:sorry, doesn't work either.... Last question(s) before I can the add-on that actually requires ioncube:
- what CHMOD should loader.so have, mine is presently 644
- IonCube wiki articles requires add line of [suhosin]
extension="suhosin.so" - where does that file come from as it is not in the ioncube subfolder or part of loader.so...
chmod 644 is okay.

The part in the Wiki you're referring to looks like the author intended the information to appear as a 'screenshot' of what you would see when editing a PHP.ini file. The only part you need to worry about is:

[ioncube]
zend_extension="/../../loader.so"

Maximum Cash Discount on any plan with MAXCASH
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-24-2008, 03:28 AM
Post: #18
ionCube installation
I think the argument against blanket-enabling something that obfuscates data from the end user is an easy win. Devices like ioncube have been, and continue to be, used for malicious purposes. If a user hasn't the ability to configure the environment to enable the functionality of obfuscation scripts I think it's logical that they they shouldn't be running scripts that "require" it. It's really in our best interests that ioncube isn't provided in our default environment.

The majority of "issues" faced by many users (99.9%) are due mostly to them not gathering the information that they require before embarking on their proposed environment change. For example, those who have taken the time to understand the necessities have little to no trouble installing PHP, ioncube, freetds, and all the other "nigglewares" that have popped up here on the forum over the past week.

In regard to ioncube specifically, the installation is earmarked as an "Advanced" procedure in the Wiki, however in actuality the process is simple enough for someone with a rudimentary understanding of shell commands to accomplish manually without too much hassle -- provided they have a fundamental awareness of what they're doing in the first place.

Maximum Cash Discount on any plan with MAXCASH
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-24-2008, 08:57 AM
Post: #19
ionCube installation
Yes, then it would be better to have all the software vendors out there who 'require' Ioncube to change the way to implement their wares?

Trouble is that a lot of applications, CMS's and other tools are suggesting they 'require' Ioncube. Therefore it is logical that in trying to offer our customers and users the best sites possible we'd probably want to push ahead with whatever it takes to allow them to do so - ultimately offering the user a good experience, while at the same time not getting bogged down in spending development time over 'niggleware' as it's been put. I'd much rather concentrate on the user than be lost in pointless exercises in backtracking, mending, tinkering, repairing, fixing - what we'd like are elegant and user friendly ways of doing things.

Sure, once I find my way through the maze of the 'simple' task of switching on Ioncube I'll think it is easy. What would be better would be some clear and understandable instructions and ideas on how to do it. What we've got is an area that needs some collaboration and help...

So, it would be great to see some cool answers to the following:

1. Having already installed custom PHP as per this instruction:
http://wiki.dreamhost.com/Installing_PHP5 (to the letter)
we now have a info.php (btw phpinfo.php will not work for some reason on my domain...) showing my php.ini file here: /mnt/local/home/USER/www.domain.com/cgi-bin/php.ini

instead of here: /php5/etc/php5/www.domain.com (as per the instructions)

- then we add this to the .htaccess :
Options +ExecCGI
AddHandler php-cgi .php
Action php-cgi /cgi-bin/php.cgi

<FilesMatch "^php5?\.(ini|cgi)$">
Order Deny,Allow
Deny from All
Allow from env=REDIRECT_STATUS
</FilesMatch>

Action application/x-httpd-php5 /cgi-bin/php5.cgi
AddType application/x-httpd-php5 .php5
---
..and place in my domain root.

..lastly this in my php.ini :

zend_extension="/home/USER/www.domain.com/ioncube/ioncube_loader_lin_5.2.so"

2. If the loaded configuration file is here: /mnt/local/home/USER/www.domain.com/cgi-bin/php.ini

why won't the above zend ext. enable Ioncube?

3. Does this whole exercise require a server reboot (as per instructions) and therefore a 24hr wait for Dreamhost support to do this? If at all?

4. Having now gone word-for-word through both the custom php.ini instructions and the custom php5 install without any sign of progress how can we start from scratch and make sure we get this right?

All help greatly appreciated and would I'm sure be of great use to others who are out there trying to do things for their customers and users...

Many thanks!
Adrian
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-24-2008, 10:24 AM
Post: #20
ionCube installation
Quote:Yes, then it would be better to have all the software vendors out there who 'require' Ioncube to change the way to implement their wares?
That's exactly right.

Quote:Trouble is that a lot of applications, CMS's and other tools are suggesting they 'require' Ioncube.
No software 'requires' ioncube. The coder made a judgement call to obfuscate data. Usually this is done to obscure methodology (for whatever reason). Some scripts use it to protect copywritten content, others use it to hide the fact they've ripped off other's code, and the worst hide their evilness inside the encrypted bits.

Quote:Trouble is that a lot of applications...are elegant and user friendly...
They're the ones that don't "require" ioncube, fopen, register globals, etc.

Quote:1. Having already installed custom PHP as per this instruction:
http://wiki.dreamhost.com/Installing_PHP5 (to the letter)
There are multiple solutions on the page you linked, which one did you attempt?

Quote:we now have a info.php (btw phpinfo.php will not work for some reason on my domain...)
Notepad them. What's the difference between the info.php and phpinfo.php you allude to?

Quote:If the loaded configuration file is here...
Perhaps PHP is being directed to an incorrect location.
I couldn't make a call on that without clearer information.

Quote:Does this whole exercise require a server reboot (as per instructions)
No reboot is required as DH uses the better approach. (See ioncube site re: runtime).
To which instructions regarding a reboot are you referring?

Quote:... how can we start from scratch and make sure we get this right?
*Very Carefully* delete all files the installation(s) created within root and domain.com, including directories, with the command rm -rf dirname. You can ascertain the directories & files created by reading the script(s) you used. Most scripts appear to rely on an etc folder, so be sure there aren't any files in there that *don't* pertain to your customised PHP before removing it from root. You wouldn't want to inadvertently break something else whilst endeavouring to fix this (something I've learned the hard way - a few times lol).

Maximum Cash Discount on any plan with MAXCASH
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump: