Current time: 04-24-2014, 11:13 PM Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)

Post Reply 
Freeze panes at top of table like Excel
03-19-2008, 09:28 PM
Post: #11
Freeze panes at top of table like Excel
That looks cool in Firefox... but am I the only one that sees it like this in IE7?

I only ever use Firefox, but wanted to see if that was something that IE would wreck.

--------------------------------------------------------
Tongue Maximum savings promo code: MaxSavingsAtDH
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-20-2008, 12:36 AM
Post: #12
Freeze panes at top of table like Excel
Yeah that's what I see on IE7 too.

$50 Discount 1LUCID50 Sign up now
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-20-2008, 12:54 AM
Post: #13
Freeze panes at top of table like Excel
Quote:That looks cool in Firefox... but am I the only one that sees it like this in IE7?

I only ever use Firefox, but wanted to see if that was something that IE would wreck.
No you are not the only one ... ya gotta "love" good ole IE (not!) Sad

--rlparker
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-20-2008, 01:19 AM
Post: #14
Freeze panes at top of table like Excel
Well, two more reports proves it's not just me. Tongue

Unfortunately, when something breaks that badly, it either doesn't make sense to use it... or you need to add some browser sniffing that triggers a Plan B.

That type of breakage makes it look like you installed a site template and forgot to add your content. It needs to at least "break" into a normal table, without the pane freezing effect, but still retaining the content.

If that can't be straightened out, then it would probably make more sense to use a floating DIV that returns to the top when the page is scrolled (like some sites do with their menus.

Those can probably break as well, but I think it would do so more gracefully, if no backup plan is in place.

I think if you're not going to thoroughly test it and work out the bugs, it's probably just best to just repeat the header every so many rows.

That can easily be done with a loop, if generating the table dynamically, where you just count the rows as you write them.

--------------------------------------------------------
Tongue Maximum savings promo code: MaxSavingsAtDH
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-20-2008, 11:41 AM
Post: #15
Freeze panes at top of table like Excel
How about this java demo: http://java.sun.com/docs/books/tutorial/...table.html

Great, more scripting languages to learn! In the last couple of years I've been confusing myself by trying to learn VB, Perl, PHP, and Python simultaneously. Now I have to take on CSS, Java and Javascript. Meanwhile, my expertise in Primos and Henco Info becomes less and less marketable.

This signature line intentionally blank.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-20-2008, 01:21 PM
Post: #16
Freeze panes at top of table like Excel
I've prepared a Gecko-friendly proof of concept that is simple to follow, but it won't work on IE without a festival of hackery.

-- si-blog --
Max discount on any plan with promocode SCJESSEYTOTAL
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-20-2008, 03:43 PM
Post: #17
Freeze panes at top of table like Excel
At least that "breaks" in IE7 as a normal table, rather than losing all the data like the other one.

I guess if generating it dynamically, you could always check for IE7 and repeat the header every 10 rows, or something similar.

Edit: The other downside of breaking is that when it breaks in IE, it breaks for most people.

--------------------------------------------------------
Tongue Maximum savings promo code: MaxSavingsAtDH
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-20-2008, 03:58 PM
Post: #18
Freeze panes at top of table like Excel
What's weird is that it doesn't break in earlier versions of IE. Explorer 6 renders the reference version just fine. In that sense, the new version is actually a step backward since IE6 doesn't handle it properly.

Unfortunately, I don't have a copy of IE7 readily available, but I managed to find this, which works in both Firefox and IE6. Maybe we can get lucky and have it work in 7 as well?
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-20-2008, 04:02 PM
Post: #19
Freeze panes at top of table like Excel
Nope - that breaks worse than all of the others in IE7.

Even if you luck out and find one that covers the bases, or can be modded to work... it's just a temporary fix until they make sure IE8 breaks stuff for no reason. Tongue

--------------------------------------------------------
Tongue Maximum savings promo code: MaxSavingsAtDH
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-20-2008, 05:53 PM
Post: #20
Freeze panes at top of table like Excel
Oh wow. I think I might have figured out how "the reference version" makes this work. Turns out the secret is that it doesn't make the table scroll, but rather leaves the scrolling to a wrapper and some other hackery to simulate a scrolling table. The trouble is, that reference code hasn't been updated since before IE7 and the new browser broke some of the CSS filters the author used to make the hack work in IE6.

Since I'm feeling sort of bored tonight, I'm updating the code to make it a bit more futureproof and to pick up IE7 support. I'll be putting the result on my blog later and I'll be sure to link you guys to it when I finish.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump: