Current time: 04-23-2014, 03:07 PM Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)

Where to put PHP file?
03-03-2008, 02:45 PM
Where to put PHP file?
Hello there. I am a newbie when it comes to setting up websites. I had a quick question. I used a Website Contact Form Generator for my website. I have already cut and pasted the contact htm but I have no idea where to place the PHP script?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-03-2008, 02:53 PM
Where to put PHP file?
You can stick it anywhere you want ... just make sure you refer to it properly in the "action" part of the form. Wink

I'd just stick it in the same directory as the contact.htm file.

--rlparker
03-03-2008, 03:09 PM
Where to put PHP file?
Okay, thank you. This might sound completely dumb, but how would I save the PHP file? You see, its just lines of code on a text document right now? Could I go into Dreamweaver and Save As a PHP file?
03-03-2008, 03:25 PM
Where to put PHP file?
Quote:Okay, thank you. This might sound completely dumb, but how would I save the PHP file? You see, its just lines of code on a text document right now? Could I go into Dreamweaver and Save As a PHP file?
Well, you *could* do that, but it is certainly not needed. Just save it in any text editor (not a wordprocessor!) using a ".php" extension (or rename it if your editor forces some other filetype).

--rlparker
03-03-2008, 03:42 PM
Where to put PHP file?
Strange, I am getting this error?

Not Found

The requested URL /contact.asp was not found on this server.

Additionally, a 404 Not Found error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request.

I changed the contact.txt to contact.php is there something else that I might have missed?
03-03-2008, 03:49 PM
Where to put PHP file?
I also tried changing to asp file but am getting strange gibberish message when I try to submit.
03-03-2008, 03:50 PM
Where to put PHP file?