Xx CPU minutes, how much is that?

Hello,
I’m a potential customer for Dreamhost and I’ve been reading a lot of stuff about their (/your, depends on who you are) business. The CPU minutes things bothers me a bit because I had never heard of it before (I’m not very experienced and I suppose it shows).

The website I plan to host would come with a discussion board (which I coded myself) relying on PHP and MySQL. All those posts about MySQL and excessive CPU minutes make me wonder if my board is going to cause issues because I am not used to this measurement at all (so maybe my question is going to sound totally stupid).

Let’s say my discussion board is similar to phpBB (a bit simpler though), and that it gets around 200 unique visitors (users) per day. Would that run fine ?

PS : Excuse my poor english, this is not my first language.

What do you mean by “the CPU minutes things”? As far as I know, Dreamhost does not have a set limit on the number of CPU minutes each account is allowed to consume. There’s just the case-by-case analysis of whether your site negatively impacts the server you’re on and also the ban against any single long running process.

200 unique visitors per day might be ok, but if your “simpler than phpBB” discussion board is very inefficient, it could run into trouble with 20 visitors per day. OTOH, if it’s efficient or if the visitors are spread out through the day, 2000 unique visitors might be ok. Well, actually I think 2000 active participants to a dynamic display board might be a bit much, I admit.

What kind of CPU utilization are you seeing on your current host? What hardware are they running?

Use the [color=#CC0000]3DOM50[/color] promo code for 3 extra lifetime domains and $50 off
More Dreamhost coupons here!

What I call “the CPU minutes things” is that no hosted website should penalize other hosted websites by using too many CPU minutes per day. My problem is that I do not know how much it takes to be “penalizing other websites”.