Wordpress vs. VPS vs. Cloud Computing

I’m doing some shopping for a non-profit and trying to balance our very low budget with a fairly robust hosting option. I’m also a sysadmin by trade so I’m open to saving money by using my own labor to maintain a VPS. One thing I will not do is maintain an email system, that’s best left to others, IMO.

We have one main site and around 30 subsites that have very little traffic. I think this rules out the DreamHost WordPress hosting option as anything beyond two sites falls into the “contact us” pricing realm.

That would leave the VPS and Cloud Computing options.

The VPS appears to be “managed” but I don’t quite see what that entails. Is it basically a VPS where you don’t have root but are able to install various services/packages via some web UI? Am I able to setup my normal Nginx/PHP-FPM/Varnish stack on there for WP? Are any email accounts included in this service that are hosted by Dreamhost outside the VPS?

Cloud Computing looks interesting, I assume it’s cheaper because it’s not “managed”. My only question there is does DH provide any email accounts?

Lastly, if the VPS or Cloud options do NOT include email, is it possible to purchase that as an add-on?

• For all options, you need to have a base/shared DH account. This comes with free and unlimited email. So to categorically respond to all of your inquiries on that, you get email with shared, VPS, and DreamCompute ( = DC = cloud ).
  • VPS is managed LAMP. You get unlimited MySQL with the base account. You can use those servers with VPS, or you can get a special MySQL VPS so that you’re not sharing database services with others.
  • DC is not managed in any way. You’re free to abuse, tune, and do whatever you want. DH support is almost exclusively limited to the OpenStack services which provide your hardware - what you do with your hardware is up to you.