Wordpress Site Slow/Not Responding

My wife’s wordpress site has been slow and drops offline for sometime now. When it happens, I email Dreamhost and they always come back (very patiently) and tell me I have a plugin running that is consuming resources to the point that my allotted memory is totally consumed and eventually killed.

I was asked to turn on WP Super Cache and yesterday I removed the offending plugin that was consuming all my resources for a new one and it is still acting slow/unresponsive.

I have two questions:

1. My wife’s website has roughly 15 to 30 (sometimes maybe 50) concurrent users at any given time of day. Is a shared server solution going to work for her website or do I need to upgrade her?

2. How do I access the logs on the web servers? I can SSH to it, but I’m a .Net-Windows guy (software engineer by trade), not a Linux-LAMP guy, so while technical, I’m completely out of my element and have no idea how to go about anything once I am on the CLI in Linux.

I’d like to not bother the staff if I can see why the site is slow and what plugin is killing the site.

Shared will handle a well designed site with that traffic no problems at all. A Wordpress site, however, requires a bit of work. You will definitely need to use caching and you really, really, really need to go easy on the plug-ins.

The logs we users have access to are error logs - and those won’t tell you diddly squat. You can view those at /home/user/logs.

The only real ways to track down a resource hog on WP is by intuition, Googling, and trial and error. Turn off everything that is not absolutely necessary for the website to function and then one by one turn the extras back on until you find the culprits. Google all your plug-ins to see if anyone else has caught a bad one and if so swap it out for something else.