Wordpress panel

Warning that I may be doing something real dumb, and the worst part is, if so, I’ve been blind to it for a few hours now. Apologies if so.

I signed up with dreamhost last summer, secured a domain name, downloaded Wordpress, and built a basic website using… is it ‘CPanel’? (I’m still new enough to be learning the terms) It is very basic; I’m an author just trying to build a simple page that tells who I am, provides links, and downloads to free ebook shorts.

So, I built the site last summer, and haven’t touched it since (summers are the only time I can devote to this pursuit). Now I log back in and cannot for the life of me figure out how to get in to edit the site. I swear I’ve searched in every button on the left menu (after logging into my account at Dreamhost).

About a month ago I got an email from Dreamhost that my site had been hacked. I went in hunting for anything wrong and could find nothing (and frankly, that means nothing), but now I’m wondering if this is related, but I swear, I’m just too ignorant to even now how to parse the language?

It does show that WordPress is still installed. :\

Am I just in the wrong place? Sorry I’m being so ignorant, and thanks for any help you can give me.

The wordpress admin panel isn’t reached from the dreamhost panel. Go to your blog, ie. www.yourdomain.com depending on how you set it up that might be www.yourdomain.com/blog/. Once you have your blog on the screen add /wp-login.php or /wp-admin to the end of the URL.

Also you really need to make sure to get your install upgraded to the latest version of wordpress, and see these articles on the wiki to keep from getting hacked again. http://wiki.dreamhost.com/My_Wordpress_site_was_hacked and http://wiki.dreamhost.com/Harden_WordPress

P.S. cPanel™ is something that doesn’t have anything to do with Dreamhost or Wordpress. It’s a 3rd party control panel that some hosting companies license. Dreamhost created their own proprietary panel