Wordpress Multisite - New Blogs DB Error

wordpress

Hi All,

Been a DH member for 5+ years now but first time poster!

I’m new to using the Multisite Wordpress installation & recently changed a site of mine over to a MU site from a standard Wordpress install. I wanted to the use the Sub-directory option as opposed to the sub-domain but since my site was older than a month i had to install as sub-domain then later changed it.

I’ve made a new site (in fact a few for testing) & i can view its options & the new database tables have been created & to my knowledge look fine…
BUT its throwing me “Error establishing a database connection” errors when i try to visit any of my new blogs. I have updated the .htaccess & wp-config files with changes provided in the Dashboard>Settings>Network Setup section.

I’m using a VPS web server & VPS MySQL, running 5.4 Fast CGI…i’ll post anymore info if required :slight_smile:

My main site http://youlearntoo.com/ works fine but a new site i created http://youlearntoo.com/korean gives me the error

I’m thinking it’s possible i’ve missed something along the line, any idea anyone?

I should note that i have Cloudflare running on the site too so the DNS address’s are actually pointing to Cloudflares & not DH…i wonder if that causes any issues? Maybe i need add Cloudflares IP’s to the “Allowable Hosts” in my DH MySQL settings?

As you can see i’m quiet lost on this one & really hoping someone can shed some light for me, it would be much appreciated !! :slight_smile:

Here are a few steps I would do for trouble-shooting:
Disable Cloudflare (although I have never used it, I would just remove it temporarily to rule it out as one of the issues)
Convert site to php 5.3 cgi

wait half an hour. have some tea. read the news

Come back. Check the site…still not working?
Open wp-config. Here are the lines from one install that has been running sub-domains (and full domains) for the last few years:

define( ‘MULTISITE’, true );