Wordpress Multisite and Dreamhost

wordpress

I am brand new to Dreamhost.

I am about to move my Wordpress powered site from the previous host here to Dreamhost.

My site has the Multisite feature turned on.

Does Dreamhost generally support the Multisite function of Wordpress?

And… Can I do the subdomain setup?

Will this mess up the ability to have other subdomains not a part of the multisite?

Just a general question for when I start moving the website to dreamhost sometime soon.

I’d appreciate any input I can get. I contacted tech support as well.

Update at 4:22pm Central Standard Time 9/24/2013

Well whatdya know. I have been searching this forum and the wiki with “muli site” and getting nothing. I searched “multisite” and got this wonderful link which answered some of my questions: http://wiki.dreamhost.com/WordPress_Multisite

I’m still interested in any input that anybody has though. Especially regarding how to manually map a subdomain via multisite on Wordpress.

I need to know this too if someone has some insight that could help us out? NetJon, I would like to know how you are doing your sub-domain arrangement and I didn’t even think of that being an issue with the dreamhost platform.

Hey Jake!

Let me tell you what I’ve learned so far.

1. Tech support got back to me and said that they basically do not support multisite. They specifically managed the whole wildcard redirect thing. On the other hand this link says you can do it, just without the wildcard and be careful about resource usage: http://wiki.dreamhost.com/WordPress_Multisite

2. After importing my entire Wordpress Multisite Installation from my old webhost (I won’t go into that) I began to try and figure out manually setting up subdomains.

3. This is how I successfully did it:

a) I added the subdomain that I wanted here: https://panel.dreamhost.com/index.cgi?tree=domain.manage&current_step=Index&next_step=ShowAddhttp&domain=