Word Press, PNP 7.6 and php-cgi turned off

apps

Hi - I posted before when trying to get phpNuke Platinum 7.6 to work and Artgeek was kind enough to let me know that I needed to turn off the default of php as Cgi for it to run. Got preoccupied with setting that up. Just noticed last night that the blogs I was setting up with Word Press now have this error message:

Warning: main(…/wp-config.php): failed to open stream: Permission denied in /home/.underfoot/fw/featheredwonders.com/flocknotes/wp-admin/admin.php on line 2

Fatal error: main(): Failed opening required ‘…/wp-config.php’ (include_path=’.:/usr/local/lib/php’) in /home/.underfoot/fw/featheredwonders.com/flocknotes/wp-admin/admin.php on line 2

I am assuming this is related. And prior to that the Word Press plugin manager stopped working which I believe was due to DH’s recent policy change that discontinues the use of allow_url_fopen PHP configuration.

I am fairly new to all this and have spent a great number of hours researching how to do this or that - only to have something work and then not work. And of course - I was affected by the Grizzabella issues. I am beginning to get a bit frustrated. While I do expect some problems as I try to learn - it seems hard to decide whether it is me, the programs, the way DH has things configured, etc.

Can anyone shed some light on all this?

While I have not used php on the host for my other website - I did not encounter any problems like this. I have not been comfortable transferring my other domain to DH as a result.

I don’t know much about most of the issues you’re having, but is the plugin section totally non-functional, or are you having issues with specific plugins not working?

I have three installs of WordPress 1.5, and the plugin section still works fine in all of them. But the WPBlacklist plugin did stop working after allow_url_fopen was turned off & I had to work around it.