Wiki help

apps

Hi

I’m starting to play with Wiki (MediaWiKi) and I’m very surprised how much lack of information there is for newbie. There is so much wiki, and so much help file, but none seem to covert the basic. (it took me 30 minutes to understand how to make a new page !)

Anyway. I want to know how to costomize the Navigation menu.

I know I have to copy the $wgNavigationLinks = array in my LocalSetting and change the namespace, but how do I make those namespace ?

If I put the name of a page or category, it simply don’t find it.

What I want is to make a simple menu with my main category. (isn’t that basic ?)

Thanks for help

Do you want to create a link in the menu on the left or create a menu page that links all the pages together. The later one is easier. First one, I am still studying.
Silk

I modified the Template page for what I wanted.

Now I have a bug with firefox (work great in IE) it’s not easy to find it. (it’s the vertical alingment of the menu on the left. it’s not the same on ie and firefox)

Something to check, in one of the folders is some css files, one for ie and another for mozilla. The fix may be there.
Silk

I also started a mediawiki site the other day, and it’s baffling me how poor the built-in documentation is. And for most settings, you need shell access; there’s no site-wide preferences settings page.

I’m used to working with TWiki (http://twiki.org) which is much easier to configure – once it’s installed! I note that DH made a (very good!) one-click installer for a wiki system that is different than what we are voting for in the Suggestions panel.

I’d love to see a one-click TWiki instead… :-/

TorbenGB
Try out DreamHost with a free WebIDPrices, options

I do have to agree that there are a lot of areas covered very poorly in the external version of the manual. Since the external version is just a click away, they probably could not justify adding an internal one.