Why does DH limit Gallery2 to 7MB uploads!?

I’m wondering why Dreamhost has chosen to limit
Gallery2 to 7 MB uploads?

I’m trying to use Gallery2 as a multimedia gallery for
movies - not just pictures. but the file size limit is killing me!

In order to increase the file size limit, you have to get
access to the PHP.ini file - something that DH doesn’t
allow, unless you compile your own version of PHP.

I’m not a programer or PHP wizard…and after a week of trying to compile a custom PHP with no sucess, i’m fed up.

i just want to use Gallery2 to view my movies. I can’t imagine I’m the only one…why can’t DH take this into consideration and up the default file size limit for their PHP???

is there some security or technical reason why?

I don’t know the exact reason for it, but it’s actually a lot higher than what I’ve seen at other hosts (2mb mostly).

Have you tried out the “From local server” or “From web page” options on the add item page after using FTP to upload? Other than compiling your own version of PHP those are the only options I can think of.

yeah, i tried upload from local server, but it didn’t work.
where should i place the directory to upload files from?
can it be anywhere in my home folder??

php.ini says so. Any uploader using php is going to be limited by this

In gallery I’ve found the “Windows XP” option for uploading to be the most convenient if you’re using XP, otherwise you might wanna try the “From local server” option as has been mentioned, or the java applet may work for you as well but you’ll have to install that one in the site admin area under “modules” - it’s called “remote” I believe

Looking at the php.ini file the upload file maxsize is 10M.

I have never tried this,or know if it has been tried before, but if you want to experiment…

Where ‘XX’ is the file size in MB.

I should add that I have not tried this because all my image files are tiny. :slight_smile:

My reply should have been made to the OP ‘anonymous’ not user919