Where to put PHP file?

Hello there. I am a newbie when it comes to setting up websites. I had a quick question. I used a Website Contact Form Generator for my website. I have already cut and pasted the contact htm but I have no idea where to place the PHP script?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!!

You can stick it anywhere you want … just make sure you refer to it properly in the “action” part of the form. :wink:

I’d just stick it in the same directory as the contact.htm file.

–rlparker

Okay, thank you. This might sound completely dumb, but how would I save the PHP file? You see, its just lines of code on a text document right now? Could I go into Dreamweaver and Save As a PHP file?

Well, you could do that, but it is certainly not needed. Just save it in any text editor (not a wordprocessor!) using a “.php” extension (or rename it if your editor forces some other filetype).

–rlparker

Strange, I am getting this error?

Not Found

The requested URL /contact.asp was not found on this server.

Additionally, a 404 Not Found error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request.

I changed the contact.txt to contact.php is there something else that I might have missed?

I also tried changing to asp file but am getting strange gibberish message when I try to submit.

I thought you said this was a PHP contact form script? .asp is not supported on DreamHost.

Probably, but I don’t know what, because I have not seen your script (I was just answering your questions!).

Have you looked at the DreamHost provided formmail script? This is by far the easiest way to implement this if you are not used to programming CGI applications. :wink:

–rlparker

Yes, it was a PHP script, my mistake I was just trying.

I am looking at the DreamHost formmail script, looks just as confusing to me! Again, I apologize for taking up your time. I was hoping that I would be able to figure things out because the generator website stated how easy it was to use.