Where is file manager?

Hello, all!

I’m not a newbie, just new to DH.

I have just spent the past 2 hours prowling control panel, wiki & forums but have not found a file manager function. Can anyone please tell me where it is?

I’m webmaster for 2 sites hosted on DH, I sign on as their main user (with shell access), and I want to see the overall file structure of directories for their web sites and for their ftp file uploads (non-site stuff; their customers upload files to be printed).

Grateful for any pointers – I’m sure this is basic and obvious and I just missed it…

Just use a regular FTP client, or the ugly web-based client. More info here.

si-blog
Max discount on any plan with promocode SCJESSEYTOTAL

I’m not trying to get site files up; that works fine. I’m trying to see the file structure. Most hosts I have worked with have a file manager on the control panel. I’m not finding one for DH.

The file manager you see in the likes of cPanel is just a simple ftp client.

Just do as Simon says and use an ftp client to show you the file structure.
You can also look at using an SSH client like Putty to connect to the shell at your account. Then you can just use the normal commands to list directories/folders.

Once you get up to speed with Putty you can use Midnight Commander by typing mc at the command prompt.
But an ftp client like Filezilla is still easier :wink:

Norm

Opinions are my own views, not DreamHosts’.
I am NOT a DreamHost employee OK! :@

Act on my advice at your own risk!

I’m still stumped. I use CuteFTP. (I also tried the ftp client built in to IE, and the “network places” function of WinXP.) When I sign in as the hosting account owner I can see and work with all the web page files; I cannot see the files which print customers ftp up. When I sign in as a print customer, I can upload a file, and can’t see the web page files. (That makes sense, based on permissions.)

Why can’t I see everything as the hosting account owner?