Where do I place certain files when uploading?

I’m an absolute novice when it comes to any and all of this stuff.

The purpose of my site is to host my photos and eventually get a bit of e-commerce going. I still have hosting with Smugmug, but find that it’s a bit of a pain to maintain and I don’t really like the complexity of it. Hence my being here.

For the time being, I’m using the Web module of Lightroom 3 in order to export photo galleries to my desktop, which are then shuttled to my site via Cyber Duck. The galleries contain the necessary elements needed for a full HTML webpage. I’ll eventually be purchasing third party plug-ins for LR3’s web module which will greatly expand upon its capabilities for web site creation.

Here’s where the question(s) comes in: When exporting the index.html file, along with the resources and content folders to my desktop, those things are all in a main folder which Lightroom makes me name upon export. If I place that whole folder at the root level of my website, visitors are presented with an index of links. But if I put the index.html file directly at root level without that extra parent folder, then all seems well as far as I can tell.

But what I’m concerned with is, seeing as how I had to take the index.html file out of its extra folder and put it at root level, I’m just wondering if it’s ok that all the other individual files are sitting in the “resources” and “content” folders ? And what about all other subsequent folders or html indexes? Obviously not everything should go on one page… I haven’t messed around enough with settings so maybe it’s easier than I think, I just want to make sure that I"m putting files in the right place.

Sorry for the long and possibly unnecessary babbling!

Doug

The question is, does the site work correctly when you move that index.html up one directory? As you are navigating the site is the ‘content’ found? If you see no errors then Lightroom 3 was probably designed with that in mind.