What's the most number of websites you have on a single shared hosting account?

I’m a web designer who hosts multiple websites for clients. I love DreamHost because it is unique in the sense that they don’t require you to pay for additional accounts. You only pay to upgrade to DreamPress if you want a faster website experience. I guess this is fair.

DreamPress is excellent, and I definitely have a peace of mind hosting my clients’ websites there. However, DreamHost’s shared hosting seems too good to be true. Is there a point where the number of websites grow so big on a single shared hosting account that performance start to take a hit?

Would appreciate anyone who has any experience to share :slight_smile:

Hard to answer to that question in general terms… Are your customers’ sites on WordPress/other CMS or are they static sites? You can read stories of customers here hitting limits even with one messy WordPress site (if you search for procwatch you can get an idea).

In general, I’d say that a couple of WordPress sites with very simple theme, no fancy plugins and limited traffic would probably have no issues. On the other hand, I’d expect that a dozen static sites with fair amount of traffic would have no issues.

I found that more important than the number of sites is having multiple users. WIth one user, updating two WP sites worth of plugins is enough to use excess resources and threads are killed. One user per site seems to help, if somewhat of a nuisance. Perhaps a good thing, anyway.

I’ve started a few threads on this topic over the last few months. In addition to recommending you view other threads on this topic, here is a summary of some concepts:

• Yes, one site per named user is helpful, though a hassle.
  • Limit yourself to about 10 plugins. Beyond that too much code loads per transaction, RAM usage goes up, and procwatch starts to randomly terminate your transactions.