What I Have and What I Want

I have become officially fed up with my host. I won’t name names here but I am mad at them. So, I’ve heard alot about DreamHost over the years and right now it’s between you guys and another cPanel host… I am just wondering a few things that will sell me on you guys if this is plausible:

I am use to using cPanel, Fantastico and Webhosting Manager (cPanel Reseller Panel) to operate my sites. I am a web designer and resell my space to my clients. I don’t have many hosted with me and the few I have are small sites so I don’t mind moving them. Thing is, one of my clients has his own cPanel right now, what about when I move him?
It says I can have multiple domains, can I give subaccounts of sorts? Allocate space between? Give them their own log in to check out their panel?

My goal right now is to find a solution for my clients; I lost my personal website on my host and because of everything else going on in my life I’ve neither the time nor desire to persue it right now, so I’m satisified with just 5MB for my portfolio. But I have to fix up my clients so I can get rid of this host I’m on before I got bibbly over this.

Jenn

Hi Jen,

The DH panel will take some getting used to; it’s certain not cPanel, but it’s awesome!

There’s several ways you can migrate your clients.

1. If you don’t host them for free, (ie, you collect a hosting fee) then you should first signup and then create an affiliate link. Have them sign up through it and they each have their own panel (which you can actually admin through your own panel.)

2. If you have clients that will never need backend access (server/ftp/mysql) you can setup all those within your own account; this allows you to manage all of them from one FTP location (because they all run under one user.) You’ll never be able to give these types of clients access to say FTP, because that would effectively give them access to everyone’s (meaning your clients setup under the user) files and websites.