What can I do with registered domain?

Hi all,

I have an existing website with a long-ass URL, so I thought ‘Let me register a domain name with Dreamhost, and then point this name to my existing website’. Is this possible if I signed up for the 9.95/year plan? Can anyone give me a clue how to do this?

If not, what CAN I do with this plan? I have no clue what a name server is, or a DNS entry… absolute beginner here.

Thanks!

yes that is possible. is your site hosted here also? if so, just login to your DH cPanel, and click on Domains > Registration, and register the new domain. it might take a while for the domain to properly work, because it needs to propagate throughout the internet.

Thanks for the quick reply. My site content is not at Dreamhost, so I have to configure my Dreamhost account to point to my other site. But I have no clue where to do this…

I’ve been reading the Wiki and now I see that redirecting is only available for people who have hosting plans… Is that true? I have no hosting plan, just the 9.95/year cheap one.

Now I wonder what the use of Dreamhost’s domain registration plan is…

Hmmm I see I have to change the name servers associated with my Dreamhost account…

Do you mean 9.95/year or 9.95/month?

If you mean 9.95/year, I think you have no hosting plan but only a domain name in DH.

And if I understand you correctly, you want to register a domain name in DH and point to other companies. To do so, you need to modify the DNS names in DH via DH panel --> Manage Domains --> DNS. Change “ns1.dreamhost.com, ns2.dreamhost.com, ns3.dreamhost.com” to the DNS names provides by other companies.

The web server provider your site resides should provide the detailed instructions how to transfer hosting (not domain name registration).

More code here Save [color=#CC0000]$97[/color] (max discount) with [color=#CC0000]97CRAZY[/color] SignUp NOW

Thanks for your reply.

Here’s what I have done: