Weird FTP problem

I’m new to Dreamhost, but not new to hosting, shell accounts, FTP and all that.

I’m experiencing very strange problems with FTP. In short, the DH’s ftp server drops the line within a few seconds after connecting. Sometimes the connection is lost even before my ftp client gets the first directory listing. But it always drops the connection within 30-40 seconds, making it impossible to upload my files. Short files make it through (though I have t reconnect every minute or so) but larger files never do. I have tried three different ftp clients (on Win2K), disabled the firewall, tried all the usual tricks, but no change. Setting the ftp client to passive mode doesn’t help, either. My website has a few hundred files, big and small, and this behavior is rather annoying…

Has anyone experienced something like this?

Hi marek -

If you can, please see if you can use a ‘traceroute’ utility on your domain. This will be very useful in determining if there is some sort of intermittant network problems between your computer and us (also, if you have seen - or haven’t seen - similar problems with your shell access, let us know that as well).

Basically, the more details, the better! :>

• Jeff @ DreamHost
  • DH Discussion Forum Admin

Thanks a lot for replying, Jeff. I’m including the traceroute below, it looks mostly normal, except it’s long and arduous because I’m in Poland :slight_smile: Note I’m using annie.dreamhost.com, because the domain I own has yet to be changed to point to your servers. I have no trouble accessing DH via the web or telnet/ssh.

If the transfer was merely slow, that would be normal. But the ftp server, or something along the way, seems to be actively cutting the connection all the time.

Here’s the traceroute:

IP address Host name Round trip time

1 1.64.0.1 Unavailable 651 ms
2 192.168.64.1 Unavailable 0 ms
3 217.172.225.169 225-169.gdynia.mm.pl 10 ms
4 153.19.102.193 Unavailable 10 ms
5 195.94.194.53 z-gdansk.pronetcom.pl 20 ms