Websites wiped out by Passenger

I have multiple websites (a domain and 23 sub-domains) that have been completely trashed. When I go to them now, I see a big “Web application could not be started” error thrown up by something called “Phusion Passenger”. It’s a system for deploying Ruby On Rails applications, apparently.

But I’ve never used Passenger or RoR. I contacted tech support yesterday, and Jeremy T. confirmed that it was caused by a Passenger upgrade that Dreamhost performed last week.

He said that they would send me an e-mail when they had more info, but it’s been almost 24 hours and I haven’t heard a word.

Has anyone else seen or experienced this? Or am I just lucky?

After not quite two days, I received a message from DreamHost tech support, telling me about the error (although I am a web developer, I had some trouble following the explanation) and saying that the sites were back up. Sure enough, they were!

For three hours.

Now, instead of a Phusion Passenger error, I get a generic 500 Internal Server Error and once again SSH access is lost. In fact, I was in the middle of cleaning up some old, unused domains when this happened (no, the errors are not because I deleted something important; nothing I can do should make SSH cut off in the middle of a session and make logging in impossible).

Here’s a followup:

Once more my sites are down and all access (HTTP, SSH) is blocked. They had it up for about 30 minutes earlier today.

An e-mail from tech support says that they think I am running Node (presumably NodeJS) because they detected calls to /modules/node/node.css in the server logs, and so they have banned my account.

Actually, that’s a Drupal module that is the core of the entire Drupal system, nothing to do with NodeJS!