Website Publishing Software Selection Help

I need help getting website design / publishing software. Maybe a website or two that gives unbiased comparisons of different products, or a list of specific products that have proven to work well for developing pages to be published to a DreamHost website.

I’m a web application developer at work but all Microsoft stuff (IIS, Microsoft SQL, Visual Studio 2008, and asp.net using VB), so I’m out of my element (besides the fact that VS 2008 is too complicated and expensive to fit this job).

I want to develop a simple / static website for our swim and racquet club. It would mainly consist of some pages of pictures (maybe some video to), a calendar, a newsletter section, and maybe a blog at some point. My plan is that after I have it laid-out that I can get someone at the club to take over the task of updating it, so I’ll need this software to be usable by novices too. I’m hoping that since our site is quite simple, there should be some software out there that’s fairly inexpensive and easy to use that will do the job.

Any help would be greatly appreciated

I don’t have a comparison resource on-hand but Mr. Google might have a few.

Take a look at WordPress. Many Linux-hosted CMS sites use it as a framework base, there are oooodles of themes readily available, stacks of free plug-ins, and even the most greenest of green internet users can quickly get the hang of updating pages when it comes to handing admin jobs over.

Maximum Cash Discount on any plan with MAXCASH

How To Install PHP.INI / ionCube on DreamHost

I’ve been programming computers for 25 years, and been developing Windows based eCommerce sites for 10 years, but being an old guy, I don’t feel like spending hours chasing false leads with Mr Google when there are people here that would love to share their insight on what they find works best for them.