Website Not Working

Im new to web design so this might be a dumb questions, but i cant get my website to work. I made a temporary page on dreamweaver and i uploaded it to my ftp to the directory that is name after my website. But when i go to the website it just shows an index with the files i uploaded in it, why am i doing wrong?

Did you name the “temporary page” index.html (or) htm

?

If not, the ‘index’ or the “homepage” will not load, you will just see a list in the directory.

No i didn’t name it index.html, that was the problem. Thank yo so much for the quick response, i really appreciate it.

I was having the same problem but now a different problem… I changed the coming soon page to index.html and the page loads and now the file index page is replaced by the black background of my page but where the page is supposed to be there is a small icon with a question mark in the center of page… When i do a browser check in dreamweaver, the page is fine… Im getting no errors and ftp is working flawlessly… Im only uploading one under construction/coming soon page (index.html) … Heres the link… http://www.macawrealty.com/ Im getting so close i can feel it.

The question mark icon usually means that you’re missing an image, or it’s not where the index.html page thinks it should be. What’s the URL of your site?

Thats what i thought but the image is there… When i do a browser check or open files, everything is there… What i did was modified a template in photoshop/dreamweaver with all my information… There are actually 3 files in the dreamweaver folder… The photoshop, a jpeg, and the index.html… All 3 files are the same image… When i first uploaded to ftp, i uploaded all 3 files… After that didnt work, i delete the psd and jpeg file and only uploaded the one index.html with the same results… Oh, I edited the above post with the link… Thanks