Website help and domain

apps

just purchased my domain, i have a free website already set up and i want to transfer my paid domain on the site. (forumotion) im not even sure if dreamhost is compatible with forumotion. can someone please help me.

i also tried the the click install to make a phpBB forum though it isnt letting me select my domain its registered and set to DNS, what do i need to do to be able to transfer this?

when i tried to connect my domain to my site i got this message

“The supplied domain name is not well configured
You have no CNAME redirecting to : nintenex.forumotion.com
You have configured a A type DNS ( A type redirects to an IP address, and not to a textual domain name like the CNAME )”

im new to all this first time having a domain
[hr]
how do you edit your domain? do i need to delete it then remake it?

so i was able to get it to direct to my free forum though its still not the main domain that i want it to be

You have two threads going, one is labeled a suggestion, yet the page you reference that needs update is not even a dreamhost page.

Making a post like this last one, doesn’t help anyone help you. Most of us aren’t dreamhost employee’s so we can’t look at your account to help guess what you’re talking about. DNS is public tho, as we can all look at those records, only problem is you haven’t told us what your domain name is. Now you say you have a subdomain that’s working but you want it to be the main domain instead, that’s great give us that sub-domain and we can help you get it working on the main domain.

Another factor with your issue might be propagation time. Are you aware that DNS changes generally don’t happen very quickly? You may not be waiting the 4-8 hours necessary for changes to propagate across the internet before assuming failure and making anohter change.

Nintenex.com is the domain i paid for and Nintenex.forumotion.com is the free forum i want my domain on