Webcalendar cron problems

I’ve got a bit of a problem, I’ve installed webcalendar from the one click installs, and everything is going fine so far, but in order to have it send reminders I need to install a cron job for it… specifically I need to run send_reminders.php on a regular basis. After looking up the procedure (yes, I am a noob), I went into the goodies/cron jobs section, and created a job…

/usr/local/php5/bin/php /home/user/mydomain.com/webcalendar/tools/send_reminders.php placing the correct user name, and domain name in the string.

Nothing happened when I tested the calendar (no reminder emails), so I set the cron job to run every five minutes, and send an email of the errors, and this is the resulting message:

Warning: require_once(…/includes/classes/WebCalendar.class): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/user/mydomain.com/webcalendar/tools/send_reminders.php on line 59

Fatal error: require_once(): Failed opening required ‘…/includes/classes/WebCalendar.class’ (include_path=’.:/usr/local/lib/php:/usr/local/php5/lib/pear:…/includes:’) in /home/user/mydomain.com/webcalendar/tools/send_reminders.php on line 59

I am able to telnet into a shell, and directly run php send_reminders.php, and it will then send out the reminder e-mails, so this one has me pulling my hair out.

Webcalendar does send email notifications when an event is created, I just can’t make this cron job thing work :frowning:

Thanks in advance.

Does WebCalendar.class exist?

What if you point your browser to http://example.com/webcalendar/tools/send_reminders.php ?
Will that trigger the sending? If so, then you can use cron to trigger it as a web browser:

/usr/bin/wget -o /dev/null http://example.com/webcalendar/tools/send_reminders.php

That’ll trigger and send all output to /dev/null (silent output). You can leave the “-o /dev/null” off for testing so you can see any errors, then put it back if you know it’s working.

Hi sdayman, thanks for answering.