Webalizer/AWStats

apps

Hey all,
I’ve been thinking more and more recently about moving away from the default Analog reporting provided by Dreamhost and I have a few questions.

First - in your opinion, which analyzer is better and why?
Second - how difficult is it to install either of the two, keeping in mind that I am a complete SSH/Command Line noob?
Third - if I figure I could manage the install with some really explicit notes on the SSH commands and steps needed (I’m not a complete idiot, most of the time), would someone be willing to provide them for me?

I’ve read the wiki entries for both installs, and I’m not 100% certain that I could manage the install with the information provided. I know it can’t be as hard as it seems, and I’m definitly interested in learning a little about working from the Command Line, it’s just that I’ve never done it before and I really don’t want to destroy anything on my account.

Any input would be exteremly appreciated!!!

================================
I’d give my right arm to be ambidexterous!

After about 4 hours of sitting here, messing around with things and getting my first taste of telnet and crontabs, i’ve successfully managed to get AwStats running (on 2 of my domain names even)!

My question now becomes a matter of what log file I should be looking for, and if I only update once a day (@ 3am) do i run the possibility of losing any visits?

This question arises because I try and update manually and I get an error message saying that ‘Couldn’t open server log file “/home/username/logs/domain.com/http/access.log.0” : No such file or folder’. Am I doing something wrong? Do I have to change the conf file to look at a different log file?

Again, I appreciate the input!
Time for bed though… TGIF, only one more day of work this week :slight_smile:

/home/username/logs/domain.com/http/access.log.0 should always work as long as you have properly replaced ‘username’ and ‘domain.com’ with appropriate values.

• Dallas