Web site upload

Hi

I know this is a total newb question but I have read around a bit and still can’t get this right.

I have 2 domains on my account. say mysite1.com and mysite2.com.

I have not set up any web sites yet.

I have just finished writing a website for mysite1.com and have uploaded it to root . However when I tye in my web address in the browser it just takes m to a listing of files in mysite1.com directory(there are no files there actually).

My question is where should I put my web site files index.html etc ? Do I create a directory after my domain called public_html or what ? Hope someone can help.
Thanks…

I’ve now moved the file to:

/home/tjarnold/www.arnoldplumbingandheating.com/public_html/

but am getting a 404 error

Hi. I think you need to go to the DreamHost control panel, select Domains / Manage Domains. Then click on Edit (under Web Hosting). Then there is a place to Specify you web directory. Here you enter the directory that contains your index.html file. Also, note that it takes time (from a few minutes to 2 days) for this to get sent over the web. So it won’t necessarily work right away. Hope this helps. Mark

You don’t need the public_html part of the path you’ve specified above.

By default, the panel will set your web directory to /home/tjarnold/www.arnoldplumbingandheating.com/ and unless you’ve overridden it, that’s where you should put your files.

public_html is an artifact unique to the cPanel application, which Dreamhost doesn’t use.

Use the [color=#CC0000]3DOM50[/color] promo code for 3 extra lifetime domains and $50 off
More Dreamhost coupons here!

Hi thanks for your help. The pages that aren’t loading worked fine when I had them running on my local computer. I have made sure they are in the same directory and will try waiting till tomorrow to make sure changes have updated then try then. Again thanks for your help