Web Panel far to slow

I’m new to DreamHost and I have a major problem with the speed of the web control panel; its slow to load the pages to the point of being unusable. I’ve waited a few days (a google search told me that it slows down occassionally) but it hasn’t improved. I can easily sit in front of it for half hour while attempting to complete a few basic tasks that take my other hosts minutes. Its just the pages in the control panel though, the rest of the dreamhost site seems fine and loads quick enough.
Does anyone else have this problem or is it just me? Is there something I’m not doing?

This happened to me a while back during the “Slowdown at the NFS corral”, but the panel has been fine for me lately. I wouldn’t hesitate to put in a support ticket. Well, I might hesitate a little if it was going to take 10 minutes to click through the panel to do so. :slight_smile:

Free unique IP and $67 off with promo code [color=#CC0000]FLENSFREEIP67[/color] or use [color=#CC0000]FLENS97[/color] for $97 off. Click here for more options

I might suggest confirming your java is up to date since a majority of the calls from the control panel are javascript.

-Lyle

What? Why would you suppose that the one has anything at all to do with the other?

“Java” is related to “javascript” in no way other than an unfortunate naming convention, and there is nothing on the DH panel that in any way utilizes “java”.

–rlparker

I would certainly hesitate if you’re going to recommend that they update their java. (grin).

(Just to let you know we’ve ALL been embarrassed by that concept - except maybe rlparker.)

Wholly - Use promo code WhollyMindless for full 97$ credit. Let me know if you want something else!

Looking into the problem it seems that it is the transfer of the page to you via the network and not the generation of the panel page that is taking the majority of the time.

| avg(sql_time) | avg(perl_time) | avg(print_time) | count(*) |