ViewVC Support

apps

Hi, I’m brand new to dreamhost and so far I’m loving it. This is the first time I’ve ever had webhosting so I’m sort of a newb. One question that I have so far is how to install ViewVC on your hosting area? I’ve uploaded the ViewVC stuff to my hosting area, I’m ssh’d into my web hosting area. I typed in the ./viewvc-install …/Installation/ViewVC … And the view vc installation comes back saying “: No such file or directory” . Has anyone else tried installing ViewVC yet? I LOVE the way they display information about your repo. Thanks for the help. Sorry if this is a newbtacular question :smiley:

first make sure that you upload the files into the right folder.

There are three folders in your web directory. The files should go into “yourdomain.com” folder.

Save [color=#CC0000]$97[/color] (max discount) on dreamhost plans by using promo code: [color=#CC0000]97CRAZY[/color]. Sign Up NOW

Thanks, wow you’re great. Fast response time. I’ll give it a whirl and see what happens :smiley:

Edit:

arggg… Didn’t work… this is what I see.

[gingerale]$ ls
Installation Maildir logs ****.com svn
[gingerale]$ cd ****.com/
[gingerale]$ ls
ViewVC cgi-bin img index.php
[gingerale]$ cd ViewVC/
[gingerale]$ ls
CHANGES bin lib tools viewvc.org
COMMITTERS cvsgraph.conf.dist notes tparse windows
INSTALL docs templates viewvc-install www
README elemx tests viewvc.conf.dist
[gingerale]$ ./viewvc-install
: No such file or directory

:stuck_out_tongue:

I’m not familiar with ViewVC. But if you have this error message “no such file or directory”, it is possible you put the files in the wrong folder.

Good luck!

Save [color=#CC0000]$97[/color] (max discount) on dreamhost plans by using promo code: [color=#CC0000]97CRAZY[/color]. Sign Up NOW

I’ve tried a million things… still the same old
: no such file or directory …

When I try to do obnoxious things like ./dlfwkjdfwdj
atleast it says -bash no such file