Verifying enhanced security

What script can I run to verify that all my users have ‘enhanced security’ set?

Thanks in advance for any help.
~Tom

Note to Dreamhost: I’m not trying to do anything evil!

Try this:

If you see any of your users in the list, then your home folder security is open. This will only work for users which have a web app that uses phpsessions.

You can also use the access logs, but it means that only users which you have logged into recently will be checked:

63 users on my server have permissive settings. Considering that there are only 93 unique users with phpsession temp files, I’d say that most people have too permissive settings, but I’m not an expert.

Thank you!

I have tried out your second script (the one which issues the ‘last’ command).

As a minor comment, I was a little worried about what would happen if there is a user named ‘cannot’. However, when I tried to create a user named ‘cannot’, the system prevented me from testing it by cunningly claiming that the name is already taken.

As a mid-level comment, it needs (for fully automatic verification) a way of weeding out the false positive which appears for the user which is actually running the script.

But more seriously, there seems to be a problem with user names which have more than 8 characters. Apparently the ‘last’ command only returns the first 8 characters of the user names which it lists, so in such cases I think the rest of your script is not working properly.

~Tom

Then perhaps you just do the most obvious thing and check the permissions of the home directory of each of your users?

Do you mean like this?

(replace ‘MYKEY’ with your dreamhost API key)

I am appalled that Dreamhost should expect its customers to write that kind of gobbledygook.

~Tom

No, I mean ssh into each of your users and [font=Courier]ls -al | head -2[/font]

If you insist on doing it that way, why not go for something much easier?