User question

Yet another person with a question about creating users. :slight_smile:

I have very little experience with web hosting, mostly just doing the basics, one click installs, etc. I have used FTP, but never created multiple users.

My question is as follows. I would like to give some of the people who access my website frequently some “space” to make their own webpages. Not a lot of space, but just something so they can do some work on their own. Ideally, I would like them to be able to modify and upload pages themselves, but I would still like to be able to have access as a supervisor in case I need to change, remove, or add anything myself. I don’t want them to have to keep sending me files for me to put in their accounts or anything.

Looking at the whole user setup, it appears if I create a fully hosted subdomain for each of them, they can have access to it, but I no longer can (unless I log in through their username). Of course, with the dreamhost panel, I can see their username and password, so that is not a huge issue. It would be nice to have all the user accounts visible at once, however, rather than logging in to each one individually.

Is it possible to do something like this with redirected subdomains? I don’t want to give them unlimited access to the main domain (or any of my stuff). How would I do about setting this up?

Thanks for the help!

Chris

Christopher John Vitek

You would need a CGI application that allows users to upload files. The CGI application would manage access controls and file management. What you want is not possible using FTP and machine (ftp/shell) user accounts.

As far as viewing all accounts at once, if you login as SFTP (SSH2) you can visit the home directories of users on your cluster given the permissions are open.

:cool: [color=#6600CC]Atropos[/color] | openvein.org

Thanks for the response.

I have no idea about CGI script, so I guess that is out.