Uploading to a Subdomain

I am a newbie, so I will do my best to ask this question in a way that makes sense.

I have created a subdomain (both the domain and the subdomain are hosted here with Dreamhost). How do I go about uploading content to the subdomain and then linking to it?

For example –

I want My Sub Web to point to mysubweb.web.com. Do I save the home page on My Sub Web as index.html? I am not sure I am asking this question right.

I think it’s something like Dreamhost will create a subdirectory for my subdomain like home/myusername/mysubweb/. If that’s the case, do I put my new index.html in that mysubweb subdirectory? I will have to look for it in the remote folder, right? Or do I create it in my local folder?

I’m not sure that makes sense…?

Please help me. I’m a lost soul.

If you set the user as your domain.com user when creating the subdomain the files will be stored in the /home/yourname/sub.domain.com/ folder.

If, however, you created a new user when creating sub.domain.com you’ll need to login using that user’s credentials to upload files (home/newuser/sub.domain.com)

In any event, upload your content into the sub.domain.com folder.

Yes, you are right. If you’ve created a new FTP user for yoru subdomain, remmeber to replace “myusername” with new FTP username. If you are not sure where to upload the files, you can always use DH’s WebFTP via DH panel --> Domains --> Manage Domains --> WebFTP It will bring you to the right folder.

Yes, that is correct. Name it as index.html and place it inside the subdomain’s folder.

$50 off and 3 free domains with code: [color=#CC0000]DH3[/color] Sign Up NOW or More Codes Here

Thanks to both of you for responding. I don’t see those subdomain folders. Do I have to create them myself? I thought I read that DreamHost creates them for you when you create a subdomain. I don’t see them with my other folders on the remote site.