Uploading .htaccess files

I have attempted to upload a .htaccess file with my FTP client and do not see it in the directory. Where is it and why can I not see it?

Some (most?) FTP clients will not display ‘hidden’ files by default. In your FTP client’s options page you should find an option similar to ‘Display Hidden Files’, enable this and you should then be able to see the .htaccess file.

Mark

Get $50 DreamHost Discount using promo code “SAVEFIFTY (Click For Details)

Tried that, can’t find it. I am using WS_FTP 95 and it does not have that option.

Furthermore, I am new to DreamHost, coming from LunarPages. I was able to use the very same FTP client there and was able to view the .htaccess file just fine from that hosting company’s directory.

Files starting with a dot is hidden by default in Unix systems. Most FTP will allow you to select “view hidden files” in the options.

More info in the Knowledge Base:
How do I show hidden files?

[color=#000000]DreamHost Promo Code[/color]: [color=#CC0000]Save $50[/color] with the promo code DREAMTEAM

Actually, it does…

From ws_ftp95le help:
-----------------begin cut n paste from help -----------------
WS_FTP Pro Window

When you have established a connection between your local PC and an FTP site, the WS_FTP Pro main window displays the files and folders for your PC in the Local System list box (on the left) and the files and folders of the FTP site in the Remote System list box (on the right).

· Note: In the 16-bit version of WS_FTP Pro, each column contains two list boxes: the top list box shows the available folders; the bottom list box shows the files in the currently selected folder.

The current folder is shown at the top of each column. The list box below the current folder shows all of the files and folders within the current folder. Icons are used to identify files and folders. Any disk drives that you can access also appear in the list.