Uploaded .htaccess, to get around 7MB php/WordPress upload limit. Crash. Bang. Uh oh

wordpress

Let me preface by saying that I am a total noob when it comes to PHP and .htaccess and PHP.ini and all of that.

That being said, I would appreciate someone’s help if someone can help and I am willing to compensate for time if needed.

But let me be clear, I am not looking for someone to just post in on this and say, “Well, just read the Dreamhost support wiki. It’s pretty straightforward.”

Not to me it’s not (noob!). So if that’s your angle when you read this (ie - you don’t really have time to help), that’s cool and I understand it, but please don’t waste both our times.

Now, let me lay it all out. Here’s exactly what I did.

Earlier this evening I was trying to go into my WordPress admin panel for my domain ‘wecantwait.in

I am currently on the Dreamhost VPS plan, and that domain runs a WordPress theme purchased from Themeforest called ‘Rebirth’. The site itself is for a client (a church to be precise).

My goal was to try and fix something that has always caused a lot of drama with this client, because they often have audio files (sermons / music / etc) that are over the 7MB file size limit in PHP/WordPress for uploads, and then we can’t upload them into the WordPress Sermon plugin, etc… and all manner of shennanigans and audio downsampling/conversion has to take place, blah, blah. sooo…

I set out to try and fix this problem.

At first I looked online for a solution (Googled it) and came across several articles all saying the same thing… that to get around this limit you either have to…

A) Alter the PHP.ini file…

…OR…

B) Alter the .htaccess file for that particular domain

…in order to expand the upload file size limit.

So I tried to look up these topics in the Dreamhost support wiki, but honestly, I don’t have the background to understand doing what they said to do in the wiki (many of you are laughing at me right now… and honestly I probably deserve it!).