Universal SQL query via Cron

software development

Hi everyone. I’ve got two questions, sort of. I’m trying to run a Cron Job that will automatically set something in my DB to a certain number at 7 PM eastern. Now, I’ve never used Cron before but I’m a fast learner. That isn’t my issue though, I’ve read the DHWiki on Cron and think I understand how to use that. My problem is the query, I’m unsure of how to do one query for the entire DB. I imagine something along the lines of:

Emphasis on where I’m stuck. Usually I put a users ID but this is for the entire table. Any ideas?

WHERE condition defines which records you are going to manipulate. If you want to update the entire table, simply ignore where condition. It will be something like

$dbquery = update users set column = whatever

It will update column to ‘whatever’ for all the records in table users.

$50 off and 3 free domains with code: [color=#CC0000]DH3[/color] Sign Up NOW or More Codes Here

Yep just leave out the WHERE clause and you’ll be set. It’s also normally the type of thing I LOVE to avoid as I’ve seen many update queries without a where clause go wrong.

Just be careful what you’re updating and you’ll be fine. I only mention this as this seems to be your first experience with a no where clause update query.

-Sarah

Prime Promo Codes | DreamHost Promo Codes

Well I did it just fine. :smiley:

Another question, in the Cron box, do I just write out the SQL query? Or is PHP required?

Well, I suppose you can write out the query if you really want to, but it’s probably not a good idea.

With PHP (or any other script), the password to the DB is stored in a script file that you can easily control the permissions of to deny anyone the ability to sniff your password. With cron, the password will be in plain view everytime the job runs, so it’s possible someone will steal it.