Unique IP for multiple domains

If I were to purchase an unique IP address, can I use that for multiple domains & subdomains? So if I have a.com and sub.a.com, can I use the same IP, thus giving me Secured Hosting on both domains (assuming I have two certificates, one for a.com and one for sub.a.com)?

Also, is it possible to only allow connections to the secured version of a domain? So if someone went https://a.com, they would see the proper page, but if they went to http://a.com, they would get an error or a different page?

Thank you very much!
JP

I THINK, I am no expert or even a DH customer YET.

I think you can acheive the latter using ‘C Records’ or ‘C Names’.

According to the wiki, you can not share a unique IP between domains.

[color=#0000CC]“PS: Do remeber that an IP address can be assigned to one domain only and can not be shared among more than one domain hosted on your account .”[/color]

http://www.wiki.dreamhost.com/index.php/KB_/Sign_Up/Hosting_Plans/Unique/_Static_IP_Addresses

Mark

Save [color=#CC0000]$50[/color] on DreamHost hosting using promo code [color=#CC0000]SAVEMONEY[/color] ( Click for promo code details )

I am able to answer your first question. Yes, you can have unlimited sub-domains. I think your one IP address refers to one domain name. Once you have a registered domain name, you can have unlimited sub-domains.

Save [color=#CC0000]$97[/color] (max discount) on dreamhost by using promo code: [color=#CC0000]97MONEY[/color].

The original poster was not asking about unlimited sub-domains, he/she was asking if they could purchase a unique IP address, which is required for secured hosting, and use it for multiple domains and/or sub-domains. I do not believe this is possible at DreamHost.

No, it refers to one IP address :stuck_out_tongue:

Mark

Save [color=#CC0000]$50[/color] on DreamHost hosting using promo code [color=#CC0000]SAVEMONEY[/color] ( Click for promo code details )