Undoubtedly Dumb Domain Question

Hi,

I’m new to blogging and I just recently setup a fully hosted account with Dreamhost. I registered a domain and now wish to set up Wordpress through one-click installation.

When I try to install the software using Easy Mode, , the field “Domain (or sub-domain) you want:” automatically pre-populates with my registered domain, except it has “blog” in front of it, ie “blog.xxxxx.com.”

Just want to make sure that won’t be my website address. My guess is that it won’t be, and that I am just labeling a subdomain and attaching Wordpress to it, but can someone please confirm? I don’t want “blog” to appear in my URL.

Thanks, I appreciate it.

That will be the web address for the wordpress part of your domain. You will need to create a webpage for your main page at www.yourdomain.com. I’m guessing you can point the front of your blog to this address too, but I can’t say for sure as I’m also very new to this.

The space for filling in the domain is completely up to you. Since they do say “domain, or sub-domain,” I’m pretty sure it won’t force you to call it blog.example.com. Just leave the “blog.” part off.

Thanks.

But when I try to take the “blog” part off, I get the following error:

Invalid Domain: xxxxxxx.com is already being used in our system!
Easy Mode software may only be installed on domains (or subdomains) that are not already fully hosted. Either delete the web hosting for xxxxxxx.com, or install your application to a new subdomain of xxxxxxx.com.

Can I not use easy mode? It’s saying that my domain is already in use, which it is I suppose, by me. I though the whole point was to have the domain fully hosted?

I know it’s completely counterintuitive (and there’s actually a bug filed in our system to fix this) — but you’ll have to delete the existing domain to add an easy one-click. Yes, this sounds completely nuts. In fact, it is. For the time being, though, it’s The Way We Do Things.