Trouble viewing my page after uploading

I’m new to this whole website creation thing. I’m creating my wedding website in iWeb, I got my domain from DreamHost, and I am using Fetch as my FTP client.

I’ve followed all the instructions for using Fetch with iWeb, and DreamHost’s instructions as well. But even after I have uploaded all my iWeb files to the root, when I try and preview my site from Fetch, I get this error message:

"Not Found

The requested URL /index.html was not found on this server.

Additionally, a 404 Not Found error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request."

When I try to navigate to my page directly, without using Fetch’s Webview, I get this:

“Index of /
Name Last modified Size Description”

I went through all of Fetch’s troubleshooting with on of their service techs, and he thinks it must be a DreamHost issue - specifically that I have uploaded my files to the wrong place, but when I tried to specify an ‘initial path’ as my DreamHost domain (per his suggestion,) I got this error:

"Fetch could not open the folder ""because the FTP server says that the requested item was not a folder or could not be accessed.

If you entered a folder name or URL, check that it is correct. Server responded “ No such file or directory.”

I don’t know anything about what I’m doing and can’t even begin to troubleshoot my problems.

Can anyone who might be familiar with the Fetch client help a poor girl out?

Here’s some information you may not know.

First you need to make sure you are using the right username.
Go to Manage Domains in the DreamHost Web Panel and “Edit” the domain to make sure the username matches what you are using in Fetch, and make note of the web directory.

Web site files need to go in that directory. So you must log in as the user for the domain, make sure the directory exists (which it does if you get a blank “index” page)

You might have a “path” problem. Say your web directory is “/home/betsy/” -