Trouble accessing files on server and FTP issues

Hello all,

So I’m brand new to DreamHost and pretty new to html in general (taken a few courses over the years but just very basic stuff that never got put into practice until now) and I am having all sorts of issues today. I’m hoping someone can give me a bit of direction as to what I may be doing wrong.

My first issue today has been simply getting an FTP to work. When looking under the Manage Domains tab in the DH Web Panel I have been using the WebFTP option. As recently as Friday this worked without issue and I was able to create an index.html with a picture displayed (here). Today I have been getting errors such as:

Unable to connect to FTP server hartmannwrites.com on port 21.

Are you sure this is the address of the FTP server? This is often different from that of the HTTP (web) server. Please contact your ISP helpdesk or system administrator for help.

Between then and now no changes have been made to any settings and the setting the disallows ftp is not enabled. The FTP option does nothing (so far as I can tell) but allow me to view files so it has been of no use to me. I chose to click the Go to Login Screen option and based on the example below the server entry field I added “ftp.” before hartmannwrites.com and was able to access the net2ftp site and upload pictures I wanted to the server, but then I could not access them. I have a picture called “sar.jpg” and to my knowledge I should be able to access it at hartmannwrites.com/sar.jpg now that I uploaded it to the server, but I get 404’d with this message:

The requested URL /sar.jpg was not found on this server.

Additionally, a 404 Not Found error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request.