Too many ruby procs (RoR)

Hi all

I have set up my RoR application as it is suggested in the Dreamhost Wiki. Now I got many “Application failed to start properly” errors from time to time, and the support told me, that I have too many Ruby processes!
What can I do against that? I have no knowledge about such stuff at all…

Quote from support:
You may want to make some tweaks to make sure that you aren’t spawning more ruby procs then what you can keep under that memory limit.

Thanks a lot for informations

“You may want to make some tweaks to make sure that you aren’t spawning more ruby procs then what you can keep under that memory limit.”

I’m also curious what that means… The spawning of processes is under their control (FastCGI options?) so that should be their job… Am I being wrong?

They definitely did something recently (to my server ‘temple’ - what server are you on?): my rails apps show intermittent error screens, fastcgi processes behave erratically - they start and die even though no one accesses the app etc.

I can trace these problems back to the time when they put the server ‘temple’ under observation and tweaked ‘procwatch’ and other settings to improve performance…

I’m seeing the same sort of problems, and have no idea how to control the number of processes. Also, from the logs it looks like my RAM limit used to be 200 MB for a little while after I signed up a week or so ago, but now it’s 100 MB. I’ve never seen any actual policy statement on RAM limits, but messing around with the limit without warning is a HUGE no-no…

Has anyone resolved how to either crank down the number of FCGI processes spawned or increase the RAM limit?

Or at least they should have limited the number of processes when they limited the RAM usage (or give us the possibility to do it, per user). Moreover, it seems that threads (which some linux utils present as procs using the same amount of RAM as the owning process) also count towards the total RAM usage.