Too dumb to breathe newbie question

I work with a VERY small non profit dog rescue. We’ve been using a fill in the blank website hosting plan, which is EASY but extremely limited. There are about 6 choices of CSS etc. I am using dreamhost for 2 weeks trial to see if we can switch our domain here.

I’m a BEGINNER. I know a little bit smattering of html, just starting to read about css. Php = just some letters to me for now.

I have wordpress as part of my initial set up. The first day I worked on an index page and haven’t seen it since, to edit – can’t figure how to find it. I read I need to edit pages then upload them via ftp?

Okay before I kill myself, I do think this is a place where we can get a better site for our dog rescue. Is there a book that is for absolute noobs on the how to nuts and bolts of starting a website on dreamhost that says something like:

click here. this is what you’ll see, now click there. then type.

etc?

I’ll buy a book if there is one.

Sorry such a basic question. Like I said, it’s a wonder I can breathe, sometimes :slight_smile:

This should help you out:

http://codex.wordpress.org/First_Steps_With_WordPress

luhlar,

Don’t feel bad at all. Wordpress is an extremely robust and very complex CMS platform. I have a Computer Science degree, over 5 years in the field, and the many years of playing around as a teenager trying to learn (I’m hardly a teenager anymore… or a 20-something even, haha). I will drop my pride and say that the first time I got a look at the administration side of Wordpress, I was a bit intimidated by all of the options and this and that… sadly, the setup was the easy part, to me… but even that took a good deal of reading the documentation carefully, etc…

So, having said that… if someone like me can have trouble with it at first, I think you’re doing good to even know what Wordpress is.